2.0.20 was a bad release

The 2.0.x discussion forum has been locked; this will remain read-only. The 3.0.x discussion forum has been renamed phpBB Discussion.
TasDevil
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:49 am

Post by TasDevil »

AFAIK every update_to_latest.php script optimizes the database. It's like defragmenting a harddrive.

Tas.
Mr. Sharkey
Registered User
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 5:42 pm

Post by Mr. Sharkey »

In many cases, running update_to_latest does nothing more than insert the new version number into the phpbb_config tables. That's not to say that this is the only operation it performs, but unless your database is damaged or the version upgrade requires adjustments or additions to the database structure, no other actions are performed.
640 useless posts, at least one too many
asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

Post by asinshesq »

alcaeus wrote: BTW, the PM issue is fixed in CVS. It's a problem when obtaining the censored words; a wrong variable is being used ATM so the preg_replace() call fails....


What problem? Is it different from the code change error that was officially dealt with in the third post of this thread: http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=380687 ? If so, could someone please describe how to notice the problem on our boards and post the cvs fix here? Thanks!
User avatar
D¡cky
Former Team Member
Posts: 11812
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Name: Richard Foote
Contact:

Post by D¡cky »

asinshesq wrote:
alcaeus wrote:BTW, the PM issue is fixed in CVS. It's a problem when obtaining the censored words; a wrong variable is being used ATM so the preg_replace() call fails....


What problem? Is it different from the code change error that was officially dealt with in the third post of this thread: http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=380687 ? If so, could someone please describe how to notice the problem on our boards and post the cvs fix here? Thanks!

The REPLACE WITH in Graham's post is incorrect. It should be

FIND

Code: Select all

         if ( !($privmsg = $db->sql_fetchrow($result)) )
         {
            redirect(append_sid("privmsg.$phpEx?folder=$folder", true));
         }

         $privmsg_subject = preg_replace($orig_word, $replacement_word, $privmsg_subject);
         $privmsg_subject = ( ( !preg_match('/^Re:/', $privmsg['privmsgs_subject']) ) ? 'Re: ' : '' ) . $privmsg['privmsgs_subject'];
REPLACE WITH

Code: Select all

         if ( !($privmsg = $db->sql_fetchrow($result)) )
         {
            redirect(append_sid("privmsg.$phpEx?folder=$folder", true));
         }

         $orig_word = $replacement_word = array();
         obtain_word_list($orig_word, $replacement_word);

         $privmsg_subject = ( ( !preg_match('/^Re:/', $privmsg['privmsgs_subject']) ) ? 'Re: ' : '' ) . $privmsg['privmsgs_subject'];
         $privmsg_subject = preg_replace($orig_word, $replacement_word, $privmsg_subject);
Have you hugged someone today?
asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

Post by asinshesq »

Thanks, Dicky.
TasDevil
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:49 am

Post by TasDevil »

asinshesq wrote: If so, could someone please describe how to notice the problem on our boards

When you answer a PM which contains a word/phrase replaced by the word censor, and you answer the PM with the "quote" button, then the replacement word/replacement phrase doesn't get inserted into topic/body text (nothing instead).

The bug is still in all official latest versions. The working fix is posted above.

Tas.
Paul Grayson
Registered User
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:40 am

Post by Paul Grayson »

Mr. Sharkey wrote: In many cases, running update_to_latest does nothing more than insert the new version number into the phpbb_config tables. That's not to say that this is the only operation it performs, but unless your database is damaged or the version upgrade requires adjustments or additions to the database structure, no other actions are performed.


Not in the 2.0.20 upgrade, though. That one also adds a column to one table, creates a few more entries in the configuration table and clears down the two session tables.

I always check the upgrade script before running it just to see what it does for the previous version. If it just amends the version number without any other changes, I just tweak that manually instead.
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Discussion”