Login twice

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
LoRDSoTH
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:21 pm

Login twice

Post by LoRDSoTH » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:17 pm

Ok, i have to login twice to get logged in to my site , if i have auto-login on there is no problem but many users are having this problem.

I tried to change my cookie settings with clearing the ones on my computer but it didnt work , i had the same problem again. It happened after a while lycos put a banner on my site!

Do you know a way to fix that login twice thingy? It's not cookie related i am sure of it.

here is my url...

http://www.shadowthieves.tk

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:19 pm

Well, what are your cookie settings now?
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

vaosu
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 9:04 pm
Contact:

Post by vaosu » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:20 pm

i am having the problem of not being able to log on period on aol. But on internet explorer it seems to work fine - and also when i tried to post this on aol it said invalid_session, so i am on internet explorer.

LoRDSoTH
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:21 pm

Post by LoRDSoTH » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:22 pm

well, i tried many different types of cookie settings but didnt work, and i changed it to original settings.
anyway here is my cookie settings ;


domain; blank
name: phpbb2mysql
path : /
cookie secure; disabled

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:25 pm

You should set the following:
domain: members.lycos.co.uk
path: /vikernes/

I don't know what you've tried, but this is nearly always cookie-related.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

LoRDSoTH
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:21 pm

Post by LoRDSoTH » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:35 pm

i tried it btw , but it did the same again!!!
as i said i dont think it's cookie related cause it wasn't happend before.. it appeared after lycos put a new banner on all sites!!!

do you have an idea?

User avatar
engert
Registered User
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 11:24 am
Location: Home

Post by engert » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:37 pm

I'd like to point out that PHPBB forum has had continuous problems with AOL browser. That's why when you test it with IE it works fine. Also with the new MSN BROWSER you will experience the same login problem.

LoRDSoTH
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:21 pm

Post by LoRDSoTH » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:38 pm

btw i am not using aol , i have internet explorer 6.0 and having this problem.

User avatar
engert
Registered User
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 11:24 am
Location: Home

Post by engert » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:40 pm

Change your cookie settings like Jelly Donught said, and clean your Internet Cache. Also, Lycos is a VERY slow server, and recently has put ADDS in their 'free' sites.

LoRDSoTH
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:21 pm

Post by LoRDSoTH » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:45 pm

do you have a problem with understanding me? i did all jelly said cleared my cookies and tested!!! get the same problem again!!!

there might be another problem , lots of phpBB users on lycos having the same problem.. can anyone take a deep look in to it?

User avatar
engert
Registered User
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 11:24 am
Location: Home

Post by engert » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:47 pm

Ok here's a quick hint, i am on t1 lan (from work). Your page from Lycos takes about 1 minute and 35 seconds to load. How do you explain that? I can give you an answer. Because it's a free server.

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:48 pm

LoRDSoTH wrote: lots of phpBB users on lycos having the same problem..
Really. Name one.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

LoRDSoTH
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:21 pm

Post by LoRDSoTH » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:50 pm

just take a look at in to this forum and the 1st page and you will see two users posted the same problem and if you go to other pages you will find more users who are posted about logging in twice!!!

but still nothing really solved about it... cleared?

LoRDSoTH
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 1:21 pm

Post by LoRDSoTH » Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:52 pm

engert wrote: Ok here's a quick hint, i am on t1 lan (from work). Your page from Lycos takes about 1 minute and 35 seconds to load. How do you explain that? I can give you an answer. Because it's a free server.


i dont have any problems with lycos's slow servers.. i have a problem about loggin twice men!

Jacobus
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 6:38 pm

Post by Jacobus » Sat Aug 16, 2003 9:24 pm

I dont have a problem with it being slow.... and I often have to log in twice!!!
oh, btw - IM ALSO ON LYCOS.

sum1 please help!
I have no idea why I'm out of bed
http://www.j99.org

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”