HELP PLEASE

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
User avatar
nra4ever
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:32 pm

HELP PLEASE

Post by nra4ever »

hi-

i screwed up my working phpbbs 204 when i tried to upgrade, so now i had to start over. i am uasing win98se, apache 2047, php,mysql.


when i click on install.php with iexplorer all i get is text. 8O
what is wrong?
Last edited by nra4ever on Sat Aug 23, 2003 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
7of12
Registered User
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Post by 7of12 »

sounds like apache isnt displaying php right
User avatar
nra4ever
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:32 pm

Post by nra4ever »

AHAHA!!

cool- i just figured it out my slashes for....

LoadModule php4_module "c:/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

were in the wrong direction-- :roll:

DOH! Thanks.
Last edited by nra4ever on Sat Aug 23, 2003 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
7of12
Registered User
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Post by 7of12 »

well the php files could be corrupt
i dont know how to reinstall php on apache as i dont use apache for my site
User avatar
nra4ever
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:32 pm

Post by nra4ever »

ok 1 more problem-
this brings me back to how i screwed up originally-

i am now at the welcome to phpbb 2 installation screen and i get errors when i click on "start install" button


i have selected..

Language: English
database type: MySQL 4
method: Install

hostname: localhost
databasename: phpbb
username: sa
password: ****
prefix for tables: phpbb_

admin: myemail
domain: localhost
serverport: 80
scriptpath: /forum
admin username: one that i made up
admin pass word: one that i made up

here are the errors i am getting:


Warning: mysql_connect(): Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061) in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\forum\db\mysql4.php on line 48

Warning: mysql_error(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\forum\db\mysql4.php on line 330

Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\forum\db\mysql4.php on line 331
phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database
User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut »

Perhaps your database server name is something other than localhost, or the database server is down.
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish
7of12
Registered User
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Post by 7of12 »

makes it seem the site is hosted off your pc
so maybe you dont have mySQL installed on your pc
User avatar
nra4ever
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:32 pm

Post by nra4ever »

how would i find out what it is?
7of12
Registered User
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Post by 7of12 »

i think it www.mysql.com
if not search on google.com for mySQL
User avatar
blueadmin
Registered User
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Bradford, UK

Post by blueadmin »

Did you get it as a pre set-up package, eg. easyPhp?, or did you install them all seperate, if the second you may not have started mysql.

You could also try the default mysql user:

Username: root
Pass: <blank>
Ho Ho Ho merry christmas
You Stuck? Read this before askinghere and here
User avatar
nra4ever
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:32 pm

Post by nra4ever »

oh no- i am setting it up here on my pc- it is mysql.
im setting it up seperately- i dloaded each seperately- sorry if i am confused. once i get this working ill ghost this thing so it doesnt happen again.

let me try that- root suggestion. thanks...
User avatar
blueadmin
Registered User
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Bradford, UK

Post by blueadmin »

If root works, i would suggest getting phpMyAdmin and changing the password for it, it could be a security hole.
Ho Ho Ho merry christmas
You Stuck? Read this before askinghere and here
User avatar
nra4ever
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:32 pm

Post by nra4ever »

ahhaa!!
the computer liked that much better. :D

user: root
pass:{ blank}

Thanks alot guys! damn you guys are smart-- haaha
cant wait to take an image to avoid this again. many thanks to all of you for helping me out.
:D
User avatar
blueadmin
Registered User
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Bradford, UK

Post by blueadmin »

Because of that I repeat that you should change your password for mysql, with phpMyAdmin, or some other kind of mysql editor.
Ho Ho Ho merry christmas
You Stuck? Read this before askinghere and here
User avatar
nra4ever
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:32 pm

Post by nra4ever »

ok, i will. thanks again.

so i would need an editor though- you cant just change it with mysql alone? that surprises me.
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”