Google webmaster tools and phpBB2/cache

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
Athlon101
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Google webmaster tools and phpBB2/cache

Post by Athlon101 » Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:24 am

Hi guys

I have been cleaning up my website and checking status on Google webmaster tools and it reports that it gets error 403 on mydomain/phpBB2/cache.

Is this normal and should I add phpBB2/cache to the disallow list in robot.txt?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66724
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Google webmaster tools and phpBB2/cache

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Wed Nov 26, 2008 3:57 am

Athlon101 wrote:Hi guys

I have been cleaning up my website and checking status on Google webmaster tools and it reports that it gets error 403 on mydomain/phpBB2/cache.

Is this normal and should I add phpBB2/cache to the disallow list in robot.txt?
you can add it to the robots file if you wish, or, since I doubt you are using it, you can simply delete the cache folder. phpbb2 does not need it unless you have purposefully set it up to do so.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”