MySQL error? Category list.

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
User avatar
reidsb
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 3:27 am
Contact:

MySQL error? Category list.

Post by reidsb »

This is a weird error that just started today

I have three sites set up with forums, each with their own db.

When you login in it looks fine, but when you try to actually look at a category you get this.

Code: Select all

Couldn't obtain category list.

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1030 Got error 28 from table handler

SELECT c.cat_id, c.cat_title, c.cat_order FROM phpbb_categories c, phpbb_forums f WHERE f.cat_id = c.cat_id GROUP BY c.cat_id, c.cat_title, c.cat_order ORDER BY c.cat_order

Line : 120
File : /var/www/html/axisofpower/phpBB2/includes/functions.php
What would cause this to happen to three seperate boards at once? And how do I fix it?
F@ce
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by F@ce »

We are experiencing the same problem.

This happened once last week and the problem seemed to fix itself. However, the error is back. With over 500 registered users we need a fix fast.

Here's the error:

Code: Select all

Couldn't obtain category list.

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1030 Got error 28 from table handler

SELECT c.cat_id, c.cat_title, c.cat_order FROM phpbb_categories c, phpbb_forums f WHERE f.cat_id = c.cat_id GROUP BY c.cat_id, c.cat_title, c.cat_order ORDER BY c.cat_order

Line : 106
File : /home2/www/bbcgamingnetwork/phpBB2/includes/functions.php
BBC Gaming Network

We are also running the latest version.
Last edited by F@ce on Thu Sep 04, 2003 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
reidsb
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 3:27 am
Contact:

Post by reidsb »

actually, I've discovered it means the device is full.

which is weird in my case since it's an 80gig drive.

I can't seem to get in with the graphical interface so I am now using the command prompt to figure out where the problem is, it's slow going.
Coffee-n-Toast
Registered User
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2002 4:04 pm
Location: Rainy NW ::::

Post by Coffee-n-Toast »

If it is an 80 gig drive, does your localhost directory have 80 gigs of space on its partition? If its in the var directory and on linux (correct me if I am wrong) doesnt the var directory get set up with its own space?
F@ce
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by F@ce »

I don't think a lack of space is the problem. We dumped 3 DB's last night in an effort to free up more space and still the same problem.
User avatar
reidsb
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 3:27 am
Contact:

Post by reidsb »

Coffee-n-toast

Thats a good question.

I am a linux noob (I am using RedHat) and thats why I use the graphical interface...

How would I check that from the command prompt? How would I change it if it's wrong?
F@ce
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by F@ce »

Well, our forums are back now. I dunno wtf is going on.
User avatar
reidsb
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 3:27 am
Contact:

Post by reidsb »

well, I fixed my problem.

When I restarted I discovered I had a problem with my font server.

here's the thread that helped me fix it.

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... +from+list
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”