Users Login Twice

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
User avatar
skullranchdotcom
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 2:50 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Users Login Twice

Post by skullranchdotcom » Thu Sep 11, 2003 2:56 pm

On my phpBB my users must almost always login, then the link at the top still says login, then they login a second time and they're on. phpBB came pre-installed with my site, so I didn't do any configuration. Are there any known issues that would cause this?

THANKS!
MONKEY@SKULLRANCH.COM
-------------
Put your life on the 23, leave your yin on the counter please... -- Siouxsie Sioux

Allyn
Registered User
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 6:54 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada
Contact:

Post by Allyn » Thu Sep 11, 2003 2:59 pm

check your cookie settings, they might be off.

There's an article in the knowledge base on what to put where.
Allyn ~ Sites: Galaxy Network ~ Galactic DB ~ Alias Galaxy

NOTE no help will be given via PM or E-Mail

User avatar
Gremlinn
Registered User
Posts: 2133
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 12:13 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Name: Nathan

Post by Gremlinn » Thu Sep 11, 2003 3:46 pm

Check the host name that is typed in the address bar and compare that with the one set in the configuration. I wanted my address to be dfsquad.gnet-rpg.net/forum in my configuration, I had www.dfsquad.gnet-rpg.net by accident. I removed the www and cleared my cookies for my site and now have no problems.

Hope this helps.

User avatar
phpb3an
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 5:43 pm
Contact:

same

Post by phpb3an » Thu Sep 11, 2003 6:10 pm

I am having the same problem (users need to log-in twice before they are actually logged in)...and my config looks OK to me. I could not find any KB article on this subject other than the Cookie one - and I changed the "Cookie Domain" to my "www.blahblah" like it said but it still requires users to log-in twice...

:?: :?: :?: :(

User avatar
skullranchdotcom
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 2:50 pm
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

user login twice - might be fix for phpb3an

Post by skullranchdotcom » Thu Sep 11, 2003 6:36 pm

phpb3an,

I accidentally put the wrong info in for cookie domain (there was nothing before) and when I deleted it and replaced it with blahblah.com with no www and no /messageboard or whatever, it now works, finally. It might have been a fluke. I locked my admin out and had to actually make this change in the MySQL database,, phpbb_config table.

Good luck!!
MONKEY@SKULLRANCH.COM
-------------
Put your life on the 23, leave your yin on the counter please... -- Siouxsie Sioux

User avatar
phpb3an
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 5:43 pm
Contact:

twice

Post by phpb3an » Thu Sep 11, 2003 6:41 pm

lol...yeah after reading the posts I could find on the subject I put "www.blahblah.com/phpbb" in for cookie domain and I got locked out too...then had to change it back in MySQL...lol

OOPS!



I will try your suggestion with no "www"...

thanks!

User avatar
primedomain
Former Team Member
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 10:23 am

Post by primedomain » Thu Sep 11, 2003 6:45 pm

cookie domain: .yourdomain.com (two dots!) or yourdomain.co.uk or subdomain.domain.com or <leave it blank>
cookie path: = script path, e.g. / or /forum/
cookie name: forumname
session length: 3600 (default)
cookie secure: disabled, unless your forum runs at https://

delete your (phpBB) cookies from your harddisk before testing these settings and make sure that your browser accepts cookies from your domain, IE 6.0: Privacy settings.

User avatar
phpb3an
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 5:43 pm
Contact:

all set

Post by phpb3an » Thu Sep 11, 2003 8:13 pm

thanks all that worked when I took out the "www" from cookie domain.

:D :D :D

MRM4
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 3:50 am

Post by MRM4 » Fri Sep 12, 2003 1:08 am

Will this help people with AOL that have problems logging in? I had that problem fixed, now it's back. :x

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”