Upgrade from phpBB 2.0.17 -> ??? and debug

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
mike=).

Upgrade from phpBB 2.0.17 -> ??? and debug

Post by mike=). »

As support for phpBB 2.0.x will be withdrawn on January 1st 2009, it seems I just found this place in time.
(If this is not the correct place for this post, please feel free to move it to where it belongs).

Short intro.

I run a website, with a forum for the users. The forum is an integrated part of the site.
The forum was set up 4 years ago by a friend, who is now unavailable. The software is phpBB 2.0.17

There are various problems with the forum at the moment but as the site itself requires a lot of attention, I have not had the oppurtunity to tackle the current problems previousy. I have no experience whatsoever with coding/scriptng phpBB. At present I administrate and moderate the board, that is all.

The main problems are spam (mainly russian / chinese bots) and broken or corrupt tools in the admin section.

Should I attempt to upgrade the software? Obviously 2.0.17 (2001) is hopelessly out-dated. In this case I have been warned that there will almost certainy be big problems with the skins and possibly with the navigation within the site. Or should I attempt to add a toolkit and install one or more MOD's as described in the first post? Then try to repair or install tools to do the things required? As mentioned... I have no experience at all with phpBB.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I will pm our forum link to anyone who can give advice or help in any way.

Thanks upfront

Michael.
espicom

Re: Upgrade from phpBB 2.0.17 -> ??? and debug

Post by espicom »

Yes, upgrade. Begin by backing up your database. before any of the following.