Template(s) used: sub-silver
Any and all MODs: Watched_Topics, Restrict_Guest_Access
Do you use a port of phpBB: no
Version of phpBB: 2.0.5
Version of PHP: 4
Which database server and version: 2.33.25
Did someone install this for you/who: me
Is this an upgrade/from what to what: no
Is this a conversion/from what to what: no
Have you searched for your problem: Yes and the information I found is inconsistent with User Guide.
I need to make some changes to my board and I don't want anyone logged in and using the board while I make the changes. So I <assume> the best thing for me to do is disable the board.
Am I correct to assume that there is no problem with disabling my board to make changes to some of the files? - never hurts to clarify the answers to stupid questions
The User Guide says that I will not be able to login to re-enable my board if I logout after I disable it? A post I found on the subject says this was later changed. So should I not logout after disabling my board - or is it safe for me to logout?
Is a specific page displayed when the board is disabled? I ask because I'd like to make visitors/members aware that the board is disabled while I work on it - and telling them when it will again be available. IF not, is there a workaround for this? Such as rename index.php to index.bak and put a simple index.htm file with my message to users in my forum folder?