database configuration

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
massimomassimo
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 7:51 pm

database configuration

Post by massimomassimo »

upon installing, I am unsure what to type in these parts:
Database Server Hostname / DSN:
Your Database Name:
Database Username:
Database Password:

for database server hostname, is that talking about who i bought my domain name off? my web space provider, or my ftp client (smart ftp). I am so confused!

thankyou
Massimo

p.s. it would be even more appreciated if the answer could be emailed to me (massimo1986@aol.com)

User avatar
zeroK
Former Team Member
Posts: 20964
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Contact:

Post by zeroK »

Database Server Hostname / DSN: try it with "localhost". If this doesn't work, contact your server administrator.
Your Database Name: That's the name of the database your host has probably given you. If not, then there should be a tool to create it. Please ask your host for it.
Database Username: Please ask your host
Database Password: Please ask your host.
Image My weblog | gamerslog.com | No support via PM or ICQ or email - If you don't know a term or a program mentioned in a post -> Google is your friend

massimomassimo
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 7:51 pm

Post by massimomassimo »

That's the name of the database your host has probably given you. If not, then there should be a tool to create it. Please ask your host for it.


is this the host for my domain name?
or my web space provider??
or my ftp client????

User avatar
Nulani
Registered User
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 1:03 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Nulani »

Webspace provider. Unless your database is hosted by someone else.
Evil is good.
Evil.

massimomassimo
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 7:51 pm

Post by massimomassimo »

so in my case, I did this:
Database Server Hostname / DSN: localhost (or if that doesn't work, www.thremidi.com)
Your Database Name: NS1.WEB-MANIA.COM
Database Username: .......
Database Password: ........
Prefix for tables in database: phpbb_


and it said ''critical error.could not connect to the database"

massimomassimo
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 7:51 pm

Post by massimomassimo »

hey thanx guys. i got it working now. i found out all my details :)

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”