can you have no mod for a group?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

can you have no mod for a group?

Post by asinshesq »

Couldn't find the answer in a search...are you in effect forced to have a moderator in a group? On my board, I'd rather leave the moderator's job solely to the administrators...there are some groups that the admins are not ligically members of so forcing them to be listed as mods in the group when they aren't really in the group is odd.

(This is a board for a school, and we have groups for parents of current students, parents of alums, alums themselves, etc....the admin is really only the parent of a current student so it is odd to have the admin listed as a member of those other groups even though obviously the admin needs control over all of the groups.)
flogger12
Registered User
Posts: 14936
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:13 am

Post by flogger12 »

an admin has control over all groups whether a member or not, so you don't need to make them a member of the group or a moderator either one.

robert
asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

Post by asinshesq »

flogger12 wrote: an admin has control over all groups whether a member or not, so you don't need to make them a member of the group or a moderator either one.

robert


Right, but that's not exactly what I was asking...I'm asking if it is possible to NOT assign ANY moderator to a group. When I was setting up a group, it seemed to refuse to accept the submission unless I appointed a moderator. Is there a way not to appoint any moderator at all?
JPortal
Registered User
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 7:50 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by JPortal »

If it wouldn't let you continue without one, you have to have one :D
Just set yourself as the moderator, it can't hurt.
User avatar
AdamR
Former Team Member
Posts: 9731
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 5:40 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida
Name: Adam Reyher
Contact:

Post by AdamR »

To specifically take that option out, that would require a MOD. Try asking over in MOD Requests

Or, alturnatively, you could just set the Admin's username for the moderator of every group. In the case that you have multiple Admins, you should ask for the MOD.

Whichever your prefer.
phpBB Support: Welcome | Userguide | Knowledge Base | Search
Honored supporter of the phpBB Group!
"If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants." - Isaac Newton
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”