Uploadign avatars... imma cry

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Uploadign avatars... imma cry

Post by projectbluecell » Sat Apr 10, 2004 2:48 pm

no matter what i do... I cannot get my forum to allow uploading of avatars...

ive gotten the folder made..
ive gone to the control panel and in option ive activaed the upload enable..

ive even gone as far as dloadign the upload mod and installign it.

when i goto my admin index it ssays.. avatar index not avaiable.


can someone pleasee tell me what im dogng wrong


=*(

User avatar
zeroK
Former Team Member
Posts: 20964
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Contact:

Post by zeroK » Sat Apr 10, 2004 5:02 pm

What error message do you get exactly?
For support requests please use the draft here :-)
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=128123
Image My weblog | gamerslog.com | No support via PM or ICQ or email - If you don't know a term or a program mentioned in a post -> Google is your friend

ChicoMarx
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: NJ

Post by ChicoMarx » Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:19 pm

Your avatar folders have to be in the images/avatars/gallery folder. Example: phpbb/images/avatars/gallery/simpsons. Any folders further down will not be available.

projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Post by projectbluecell » Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:49 am

I dont get any errors. because i cant get eh forum to give me the option of uploading a avatar in the profile area.


and i have the folders setup properly

forum/images/avatars/member_upload

so i got the the folder setup... now what?

BlueRook
Registered User
Posts: 2892
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 2:38 am

Post by BlueRook » Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:53 am

Have you done any MODs that would affect a user's profile? If the setting to enable avatar uploading is set to "yes" then try uploading a good copy of profile.php.

projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Post by projectbluecell » Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:54 am

URL: projectbluecell.com/forum
Template(s) used: custom and subBlack
Any and all MODs: upload mod (doesnt work either)
Do you use a port of phpBB: not sure
Version of phpBB: 2.0.8
Version of PHP: not sure
Which database server and version: not sure
Host: ipowerweb.com
Did someone install this for you/who: no, i did
Have you searched for your problem: on this forum, yes, noone has problems like i do
State the nature of your problem: I evidently dont knwo how to properly make the php board accect uploading avatars. none of my users cna upload avatars, the option is not there.
Do you have a test account for us: no

User avatar
zeroK
Former Team Member
Posts: 20964
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Contact:

Post by zeroK » Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:21 am

What have you set your Avatar Storage Path to in the admin panel -> general admin -> configuration form?
Image My weblog | gamerslog.com | No support via PM or ICQ or email - If you don't know a term or a program mentioned in a post -> Google is your friend

projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Post by projectbluecell » Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 pm

Avatar Storage Path :
images/Avatars/member_uploads

Avatar Gallery Path
images/Avatars/

the gallery option works fine.. browsign and choosing avatars that are already there..

i just cant fig otu why the upload option oisnt there

projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Post by projectbluecell » Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:59 pm

http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=22

this links says i need to chmod 777 that folder to allow any1 to upload files to it...

yet the link doesnt go into specifics on how to chmod.

User avatar
zeroK
Former Team Member
Posts: 20964
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Contact:

Post by zeroK » Sun Apr 11, 2004 6:49 pm

That completely depends on the implementation of chmod in your FTP client :-) Please read the manual of your FTP client for details :-)
Image My weblog | gamerslog.com | No support via PM or ICQ or email - If you don't know a term or a program mentioned in a post -> Google is your friend

projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Post by projectbluecell » Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:07 pm

but im not ftp uploadign these avatars am i? i thought it was php uploading?

l33tb0y
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 5:10 am

Post by l33tb0y » Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:34 pm

you change the chmod of the folder through FTP tho.

projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Post by projectbluecell » Sun Apr 11, 2004 8:25 pm

ok i went into my control panel for my server.. and i have made the folder
images/Avatars/member_uploads

777

now what? the option to upload your avatar is still not there...

User avatar
zeroK
Former Team Member
Posts: 20964
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Contact:

Post by zeroK » Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:28 pm

Does the problem also appear with subSilver as style?
Image My weblog | gamerslog.com | No support via PM or ICQ or email - If you don't know a term or a program mentioned in a post -> Google is your friend

projectbluecell
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Contact:

Post by projectbluecell » Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:31 pm

i removed subsilver the 2nd day i had the forum up... my users really didnt liek the plastic feel to it...

im using 1 style i dloaded from here..

aelos or sumthign liek that

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”