Access db but no dns allowed

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
User avatar
Johan007
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:15 am
Contact:

Access db but no dns allowed

Post by Johan007 » Wed Apr 14, 2004 10:31 am

My host will not allow dns connections. Where can I get help setting PHPbb to work with Access on a dns-less connection? Its for my brothers games console website.
Johan De Silva, Need free graphic design help PM me or anything to do with movie forums.
movie reviews | games console reviews | web design

User avatar
Johan007
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:15 am
Contact:

Post by Johan007 » Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:51 am

<BUMP>

So I cant use a dsn-less connection?
Johan De Silva, Need free graphic design help PM me or anything to do with movie forums.
movie reviews | games console reviews | web design

User avatar
Johan007
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:15 am
Contact:

Post by Johan007 » Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:54 am

k i searched the forum and found the info: http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... ht=dsnless

Its sad you cant have dns-less.
Johan De Silva, Need free graphic design help PM me or anything to do with movie forums.
movie reviews | games console reviews | web design

half-
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 7:53 am

Post by half- » Thu Apr 15, 2004 9:04 am

it doesnt look like anyone cares.

me either...

Nemesis28
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:54 am

Post by Nemesis28 » Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:57 am

what hosting provider are you using? Mine does not allow me to do it either so I am trying to find a work around. I have ASP (written in VB) examples how to do it. I just need to find in the PHP code where they create the connection and I think I can make then need changes.

User avatar
tanis
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 1:20 pm
Location: Bergamo, Italy
Contact:

Post by tanis » Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:46 pm

Any luck with that?

flogger12
Registered User
Posts: 14936
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:13 am

Post by flogger12 » Tue Aug 31, 2004 1:12 am

hey , you have to have hosting that meets the minimum requirements for phpbb if you want to use it. you must have php installed and a database of some kind, access will work if you have all the needed stuff and you know how to use it, however, it is the absolute worst database to try and use with this program. If cant handle very much at all.

you need to get a host that can run the phpbb software.

luck,
robert

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”