Domain name required ?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
php_user
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 7:23 am
Location: Sweden, Gothenbourg

Domain name required ?

Post by php_user »

Hej. I use search function but dont find anything about just this message.
My forum send pm notification but there is some insecurity about
reply notification. Any ideas why this message pop up!

Ran into problems sending Mail. Response: 501 5.5.2 ... Domain name required
DEBUG MODE
Line : 142
File : D:\InetPub\wwwroot\blackrace\includes\smtp.php


In admin congig panel i have declare
Domain name: www.blackrace-forum.net
Cookie domain .blackrace-forum.net

Regards
Mathias V
Göteborg

phpBB2 v2.0.10
User avatar
dropby23
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:11 pm

Post by dropby23 »

domain name for stmp option
php_user
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 7:23 am
Location: Sweden, Gothenbourg

Post by php_user »

dropby23 wrote: domain name for stmp option


Hello. Can you tell me more what to do. Iam not so familar with SMTP option?

I have SMTP = mail1.mejaz.com and sendmail_from = mail@hemsida.net

Regards
Mathias
User avatar
thecharmed01
Former Team Member
Posts: 2643
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 10:07 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Post by thecharmed01 »

you need to check with your host/ISP as to your smtp settings.

I know mine are smtp.yourhost.com not mail1.yourhost.com

the settings might not be quite right.......
Please refrain from PM'ing me for support unless I specifically ask you to.......

Helpful Pages: ~ [Styles FAQ] ~ [Styles User Guide] ~ [Styles Submission Policy]
My Site: [C1 Web Design]
| Mum | Web Designer | Airsoft Player| Business Owner|
php_user
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 7:23 am
Location: Sweden, Gothenbourg

Post by php_user »

Something is not work correctly. New user can register and get replay to confirm registration.
And when someone post PM i get notification. But when user reply quote or reply post
i get no notification. Maybe Hotmail stop notifications from forum.

Rgards
Mathias
Göteborg
php_user
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 7:23 am
Location: Sweden, Gothenbourg

Post by php_user »

I think i find a way out of this insecurity. In ACP i write SMTP adress
and no userid/passw. Then i change Admin mail nn@nn.net and do
some option change in hotmail. Then i change alternative options in hotmail in safe adress (@nn.net).

Regards
Mathias V
Göteborg
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”