Page 5 of 6

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2002 1:27 am
by roly
CoummuniTech.net shuts down sites for no reason.
Also Apache 1.3.3? HAHA that version was obsoleted over 3 years ago!

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2002 5:42 am
by Kail
No doubt it can. What may take time, however, is the conversion process from UBB to phpBB. It may take close to one hour depending on the hardware of your web server.

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2002 1:22 am
by swipesy
I have a board (not mine) on my server which has over 1,800 members and 52,000 posts. That board, a few others, and a few other sites are all that's on it so far. Now, that large board is running phpBB version 1.4, and with (at this moment) 36 users browsing the forums, here are the server details:

Code: Select all

Current Time: Sunday, 30-Jun-2002 21:20:41 EDT
Restart Time: Tuesday, 25-Jun-2002 00:49:46 EDT
Parent Server Generation: 846 
Server uptime: 5 days 20 hours 30 minutes 55 seconds
Total accesses: 978242 - Total Traffic: 2.1 GB
CPU Usage: u9.52 s1.51 cu0 cs0 - .00218% CPU load
1.93 requests/sec - 4508 B/second - 2331 B/request
9 requests currently being processed, 5 idle servers
I just can't see a problem running a board even ten times as large as that on my server ... I just can't ... even running 1.4!

I am working to to get V2 configured for it now, though, not that the server will care ... :mrgreen:

dedicated Server

Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 8:31 pm
by McBens
I am running a dedicated server being hostet by the best Internet Provider in Germany (C't Test). The Hardware is best described by Celeron 1,2 Ghz 256MB main memory and lots of HD space. Since I have rootaccess I am my own Admin.

Now I am running 2 active phpBB 2 boards hosting about 70 users total. Most online is 13 users and I am desperate. phpBB is eating up memory :!:

I already gave php 26MB :!: at max allowed memory at php.ini. Is that normal? Are there any other ways to optimize a server running phpBB. Each httpd process is averaging at 15MB and there are at laest 3 of them. Is there a way of optimising a Server for phpBB2 without taking away the special features when a whole server ist available :?:

Is there a good advice to secure Services for a new born Admin ?
I appreciate any help.

ThanX
McBens

PS: I am Running SuSE Linux 8.0, MySQL 3.23.37

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 12:46 am
by primedomain
McBens: Are you already using the template caching system (included in the download package in the contrib folder)?
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/docs/INSTALL.html#extras
Have you already disabled gzip? Admin Panel --> General Admin --> Configuration
Here someone recommends 30 MB...

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 7:02 am
by whofarted
I've noticed a lot of people saying things like "theres no way to know how many sites are on the shared server." It sounds like people think the server is just overloaded but remember this:
Your php forum software is using way too much resources /home/beatbi/public_html/phpBB2 please use something else unless


They where pointing to that dir.

my only wonder is are they BS'ing you or did a script go batty? Maybe a MOD with a typo or something?

I'd say "let me see the logs" & if they wont show them, look for a new host.

My $0.02 :wink:

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 9:52 am
by McBens
Primedomain: Thank you for the advice. I did both, the 30MB RAM and file caching. I will see if the forum hangs up the server this night again.

MfG
McBens

edit: It did not hang up again, everything fine so far, thanX again

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 11:55 am
by gatty
Daz wrote: Hi,
Powered by phpBB 2.0 RC-4 © 2001 phpBB Group


Will updating to the latest release make any difference?


just what i was thinking daz.....that quote was from the first page....yet still no update :?

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2002 3:34 pm
by Berend
This is an old topic, but I`ve had a simulair experience. When moving my phpBB 2.0.2 my software caused the new server to crash. The host deactivated my account and they blamed phpBB.

After a search for the problem, I traced it to a mod wich placed topictitles on my frontpage.

Hope this info can help someone.

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2002 3:35 pm
by Kail
I'm using that MOD and I haven't had any problems at all.

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 8:17 am
by Daijoubu
Old stable release of Apache is 1.3.26 right? what's 1.3.3?!

Communitech.net

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 3:29 pm
by kkks
Just to let you guys know that I am with Communitech.net as well, and I don't have problem with them.

I installed phpBB 2.0.1 in June and haven't had any system resource usages warnings as Ultron. (I am not in the same "Libra" machine as Ultron.)

Just a few things want to clear out.
Communitech.net did offere "unlimited bandwidth" (I did not get that deal, but my FTP hosting does).
Communitech.net updated to Apache/1.3.26 sometime during June.

My forum
Daijoubu wrote: Old stable release of Apache is 1.3.26 right? what's 1.3.3?!

It is read as 1.3.twenty-six and 1.3.three (which simply indicates an earlier release).

Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2002 3:20 am
by Daijoubu
1.3.03? o_O because 1.3.3 read as 1.3.30 which should be newer than .26 :lol:

invision

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 4:30 am
by rcrcomputing
Looking at her site, the answer seems to have been invisionboard.

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 6:43 am
by SK
Powered by phpBB 2.0.2 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group


Seems hes tried

/me points to 2.0.3