Bandwith required

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
ngetest
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2001 8:20 am

Bandwith required

Post by ngetest » Wed Nov 28, 2001 11:12 pm

how big is the bandwith required for this forum ?
I just curious....

Topher
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 4:46 pm

Post by Topher » Wed Nov 28, 2001 11:35 pm

My forum has been up for 1 1/2 months, has 300 members and 9000 posts. I also have the image upload mod with an 80kb max, so my numbers are higher than most, but so far this month it has used 5.4 gigs. It would probably be half that without image upload.

theFinn
Founder and ex-Contributor
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 7:58 pm
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Contact:

Post by theFinn » Thu Nov 29, 2001 1:18 am

Our v1.x support forums probably use around 30gb per month.. there's a steady 10 - 15 users online at a time..

Thats an estimimate based on past numbers (when we had good tracking), the forum traffic was 3 times the main website traffic and the main website currently does a bit over 10gb/month.

v2.0 is a little heavier so it will take more bandwidth..
James 'theFinn' Atkinson
Founder & ex-Contributor
http://www.thefinn.net

User avatar
GamerZ
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2001 11:13 am
Location: Singapore

Post by GamerZ » Thu Nov 29, 2001 5:29 am

why bandwith is expensive, can someone explain what is bandwith actually? i dun really understand it

gameofhit
Registered User
Posts: 986
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2001 10:29 pm
Location: Michigan Tech
Contact:

Post by gameofhit » Thu Nov 29, 2001 6:25 am

Bandwidth is basically the amount of data traveling from one place to another. This is different than latency, which is how fast it takes to get from one end to the other (pings test latency).

Bandwidth is expensive because of the massive volume of stuff that is going all over the internet. Because wires from place to place can only transfer a certain amount of information at any given time (10Mbps, 100Mbps, 1Gbps, etc.) it means that the more bandwidth that anyone is using affects everyone else, at some point. The reason that hosts limit bandwidth is that they have a connection of finite speed to the server box itself. Bandwidth limiting prevents one site from hogging all of the bandwidth for the whole box. 8)

Disclaimer: All of the above is AFAIK, and may be explained wrong. I encourage anyone to correct or add information to this! :D

User avatar
Faejon
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2001 12:57 am
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Contact:

Post by Faejon » Thu Nov 29, 2001 6:48 am

How can I tell how much bandwidth I am using? My friend supplied me with a box at his ISP and I have no limits so I have never bothered to check. It is a RH 5.2 box and I have root access is there a command I could use to see how much bandwidth my site uses?
Faejon Dorunrun
Captain / Webmaster
Battle Cry of Terris-Thule

an Everquest guild

User avatar
ekn
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 8:21 pm
Location: Austin TX, US
Contact:

Post by ekn » Thu Nov 29, 2001 7:59 am

get/make a utility to analyze your web server logs
fishinferno forever!

ngetest
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2001 8:20 am

Post by ngetest » Thu Nov 29, 2001 8:18 am

Faejon wrote: How can I tell how much bandwidth I am using? My friend supplied me with a box at his ISP and I have no limits so I have never bothered to check. It is a RH 5.2 box and I have root access is there a command I could use to see how much bandwidth my site uses?


do you think your friend want to host me too ?
i'll pay for that. but dont to expensive i dun have much money.

private msg me okay.. thanks dude

User avatar
Faejon
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2001 12:57 am
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Contact:

Post by Faejon » Thu Nov 29, 2001 8:57 am

Yes, he does do hosting. I know nothing about it. Just go to the website he set up http://www.on-z.net.
Faejon Dorunrun
Captain / Webmaster
Battle Cry of Terris-Thule

an Everquest guild

User avatar
GamerZ
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2001 11:13 am
Location: Singapore

Post by GamerZ » Thu Nov 29, 2001 2:06 pm

absinthe wrote: Bandwidth is basically the amount of data traveling from one place to another. This is different than latency, which is how fast it takes to get from one end to the other (pings test latency).

Bandwidth is expensive because of the massive volume of stuff that is going all over the internet. Because wires from place to place can only transfer a certain amount of information at any given time (10Mbps, 100Mbps, 1Gbps, etc.) it means that the more bandwidth that anyone is using affects everyone else, at some point. The reason that hosts limit bandwidth is that they have a connection of finite speed to the server box itself. Bandwidth limiting prevents one site from hogging all of the bandwidth for the whole box. 8)

Disclaimer: All of the above is AFAIK, and may be explained wrong. I encourage anyone to correct or add information to this! :D
thanks for the explaination, btw what is AFAIK?

gameofhit
Registered User
Posts: 986
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2001 10:29 pm
Location: Michigan Tech
Contact:

Post by gameofhit » Thu Nov 29, 2001 3:28 pm

Means: As Far As I Know :D

When I originally came here, I didn't know what half of the acronyms meant either. :oops: However, every one that I have searched for at www.dictionary.com, I have found the answer :wink:

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”