Page 1 of 1

Bandwith required

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2001 11:12 pm
by ngetest
how big is the bandwith required for this forum ?
I just curious....

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2001 11:35 pm
by Topher
My forum has been up for 1 1/2 months, has 300 members and 9000 posts. I also have the image upload mod with an 80kb max, so my numbers are higher than most, but so far this month it has used 5.4 gigs. It would probably be half that without image upload.

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 1:18 am
by theFinn
Our v1.x support forums probably use around 30gb per month.. there's a steady 10 - 15 users online at a time..

Thats an estimimate based on past numbers (when we had good tracking), the forum traffic was 3 times the main website traffic and the main website currently does a bit over 10gb/month.

v2.0 is a little heavier so it will take more bandwidth..

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 5:29 am
by GamerZ
why bandwith is expensive, can someone explain what is bandwith actually? i dun really understand it

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 6:25 am
by gameofhit
Bandwidth is basically the amount of data traveling from one place to another. This is different than latency, which is how fast it takes to get from one end to the other (pings test latency).

Bandwidth is expensive because of the massive volume of stuff that is going all over the internet. Because wires from place to place can only transfer a certain amount of information at any given time (10Mbps, 100Mbps, 1Gbps, etc.) it means that the more bandwidth that anyone is using affects everyone else, at some point. The reason that hosts limit bandwidth is that they have a connection of finite speed to the server box itself. Bandwidth limiting prevents one site from hogging all of the bandwidth for the whole box. 8)

Disclaimer: All of the above is AFAIK, and may be explained wrong. I encourage anyone to correct or add information to this! :D

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 6:48 am
by Faejon
How can I tell how much bandwidth I am using? My friend supplied me with a box at his ISP and I have no limits so I have never bothered to check. It is a RH 5.2 box and I have root access is there a command I could use to see how much bandwidth my site uses?

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 7:59 am
by ekn
get/make a utility to analyze your web server logs

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 8:18 am
by ngetest
Faejon wrote: How can I tell how much bandwidth I am using? My friend supplied me with a box at his ISP and I have no limits so I have never bothered to check. It is a RH 5.2 box and I have root access is there a command I could use to see how much bandwidth my site uses?


do you think your friend want to host me too ?
i'll pay for that. but dont to expensive i dun have much money.

private msg me okay.. thanks dude

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 8:57 am
by Faejon
Yes, he does do hosting. I know nothing about it. Just go to the website he set up http://www.on-z.net.

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 2:06 pm
by GamerZ
absinthe wrote: Bandwidth is basically the amount of data traveling from one place to another. This is different than latency, which is how fast it takes to get from one end to the other (pings test latency).

Bandwidth is expensive because of the massive volume of stuff that is going all over the internet. Because wires from place to place can only transfer a certain amount of information at any given time (10Mbps, 100Mbps, 1Gbps, etc.) it means that the more bandwidth that anyone is using affects everyone else, at some point. The reason that hosts limit bandwidth is that they have a connection of finite speed to the server box itself. Bandwidth limiting prevents one site from hogging all of the bandwidth for the whole box. 8)

Disclaimer: All of the above is AFAIK, and may be explained wrong. I encourage anyone to correct or add information to this! :D
thanks for the explaination, btw what is AFAIK?

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2001 3:28 pm
by gameofhit
Means: As Far As I Know :D

When I originally came here, I didn't know what half of the acronyms meant either. :oops: However, every one that I have searched for at www.dictionary.com, I have found the answer :wink: