alittle help please

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
david6789
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:16 am
Contact:

alittle help please

Post by david6789 »

Hi I downloaded the wowhorde style (its awsome) and I loaded it using smartFTP to my website ( www.temperis.org ) but I dont get the forum. I get a link or something (www.temperis.org/form ). Not sure what I did wrong, any help would be great. please advise

Thanks
Dave
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

First off, what directory is your forum in?

http://www.yoursite.com/phpBB2/?

If that's what it is, make sure you upload the template to the 'templates' file under your root phpbb directory.

And delete the template file if you uploaded it elsewhere.

Edit...whoa...

I think you may have deleted the default subSilver template.

That's your problem.

Upload the subSilver template.

Then, DO NOT DELETE subSilver.

Add your template file in the templates folder.

Go into your admin panel.

Under Styles, Click Add.

Install the template you added.

NOW, set that as your default template.
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
david6789
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:16 am
Contact:

Post by david6789 »

My site is www.temperis.org

In smartftp I go into www folder and in there is the forum folder and everything else. The like to my forum is:

www.Temperis.org/forum/




.......Edit .......................
I bet thats it I will try thanks
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

Like I said, you deleted the subSilver template by mistake.

The Folder you should have uploaded it to is Templates.

Just upload the whole template folder, not just the files.

And you may have to reupload SubSilver.
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
flogger12
Registered User
Posts: 14936
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:13 am

Post by flogger12 »

and everything is case sensitive, Templates is not the same as templates (should be templates) subSilver is not the same as subsilver, etc etc,
whatever the style name is in the zip file, it has to be the same on your server.

some ftp programs change the case of files names to all lower and almost every style has a combination of upper and lower case in the name. (not sure why)

as was said, reupload subSilver, and leave it there, you will need it. then install the new style and choose if from your admin panel and choose yes to over ride users.


robert
david6789
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:16 am
Contact:

Post by david6789 »

I reloaded subsilver and added the wowhord to the template file so it looks like this

templates (folder)
-subsilver (subfolder)
-wowhord (subfolder)

I went into Styles Admin (in admin area of forum) clicked add to change it to wowhord formate and it comes up and shows no themes to add. So I am stuck please help

Thanks
David
david6789
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:16 am
Contact:

Post by david6789 »

loaded a different theme and it works so I am deleted the one I want and reloading it
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

Ok....that should work, now.
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
flogger12
Registered User
Posts: 14936
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:13 am

Post by flogger12 »

I think you may be confused on how this works.

first you upload a style you want to your templates folder.
then you go to your admin/styles/add and see if it is there, if so, click the install
now, go into your admin/configuration panel and choose it from the drop down box. decide if you want it to be the default by picking yes or no to over ride user and you should be done.


robert
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”