Upgraded to 2.0.13, Version number does not display

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
DriftingForums
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:53 pm

Upgraded to 2.0.13, Version number does not display

Post by DriftingForums »

Hello, just had a quick question. I just upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.13 and I've noticed the version number at the bottom of the page did not increment like it usually does. Now it just reads: Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group.

Is it supposed to be like that? Of course, I dont have a problem with it, but I just wanna make sure the upgrade was successfull. I'm mainly worried because this time around there was no /install/upgrade_to_2.0.13.php file to run.

Thanks for any info you guys have!!!
DriftingForums.Com ... a forum ... for drifting ...
David Palmer
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by David Palmer »

Drifting,

The version number isn't supposed to display on the main page anymore (that was changed in 2.0.12). If you log into your ACP, you should see it.

If you didn't run the upgrade_to_latest script, your board probably still has 2.0.11 in the database. You can either go into the db using phpMyAdmin and change the setting (version field in phpbb_config table), or you can find an upgrade_to_latest.php file in one of the update downloads available on the site here.

Good luck,

David
The more details you can provide about your problem, the better people can help you!
phpBB Rules :: Support Request Template
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

It's a new feature the team added, they decided it just took up some space.

You can add it in manually by opening Templates/SubSilver/Overall_footer.php, and where it says powered by:
phpbb, add 2.0.13 after phpbb.
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
DriftingForums
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:53 pm

Post by DriftingForums »

Thanks Guys!!!!
DriftingForums.Com ... a forum ... for drifting ...
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

You're quite welcome! :wink:
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
David Palmer
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by David Palmer »

they decided it just took up some space


Actually, having the version number not appear from the public part of your forums keeps your site MORE secure ... it prevents malicious users (and webworms) from easily identifying your site as a target if you haven't upgraded to the latest version immediately.

Good luck,

David
The more details you can provide about your problem, the better people can help you!
phpBB Rules :: Support Request Template
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

yes, that is true. Thanks, David.
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
DriftingForums
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:53 pm

Post by DriftingForums »

I checked the version field in the config table and it reads .0.6 yikes. hahahaha
DriftingForums.Com ... a forum ... for drifting ...
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

Lol. Just change it to 2.0.13, and it should work. :)
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
DriftingForums
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:53 pm

Post by DriftingForums »

Alright, its been changed. Thanks again guys!! Is there anything else I should check out before deciding the upgrade was successfull??
DriftingForums.Com ... a forum ... for drifting ...
3d0
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Greenfield, In
Contact:

Post by 3d0 »

No, not that I know of. You merely changed the overall_footer.php, it won't affect any essential coding or anything.
An Phpbb Support Dude--PM me for help.
Join the Clan:http://www.thedaetclan.tk

Now Testing:Phpbb 3.0 Beta
David Palmer
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by David Palmer »

3d0,

Actually, he changed the value in the db. And it's overall_footer.tpl, not overall_footer.php (just in case anyone else tries to do the same thing).

Drifting,

3d0 is right -- you're good to go!

David
The more details you can provide about your problem, the better people can help you!
phpBB Rules :: Support Request Template
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”