Page 1 of 1

Upgraded to 2.0.13, Version number does not display

Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:59 pm
by DriftingForums
Hello, just had a quick question. I just upgraded from 2.0.11 to 2.0.13 and I've noticed the version number at the bottom of the page did not increment like it usually does. Now it just reads: Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group.

Is it supposed to be like that? Of course, I dont have a problem with it, but I just wanna make sure the upgrade was successfull. I'm mainly worried because this time around there was no /install/upgrade_to_2.0.13.php file to run.

Thanks for any info you guys have!!!

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:04 am
by David Palmer
Drifting,

The version number isn't supposed to display on the main page anymore (that was changed in 2.0.12). If you log into your ACP, you should see it.

If you didn't run the upgrade_to_latest script, your board probably still has 2.0.11 in the database. You can either go into the db using phpMyAdmin and change the setting (version field in phpbb_config table), or you can find an upgrade_to_latest.php file in one of the update downloads available on the site here.

Good luck,

David

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:05 am
by 3d0
It's a new feature the team added, they decided it just took up some space.

You can add it in manually by opening Templates/SubSilver/Overall_footer.php, and where it says powered by:
phpbb, add 2.0.13 after phpbb.

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:05 am
by DriftingForums
Thanks Guys!!!!

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:07 am
by 3d0
You're quite welcome! :wink:

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:10 am
by David Palmer
they decided it just took up some space


Actually, having the version number not appear from the public part of your forums keeps your site MORE secure ... it prevents malicious users (and webworms) from easily identifying your site as a target if you haven't upgraded to the latest version immediately.

Good luck,

David

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:20 am
by 3d0
yes, that is true. Thanks, David.

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:20 am
by DriftingForums
I checked the version field in the config table and it reads .0.6 yikes. hahahaha

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:23 am
by 3d0
Lol. Just change it to 2.0.13, and it should work. :)

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:31 am
by DriftingForums
Alright, its been changed. Thanks again guys!! Is there anything else I should check out before deciding the upgrade was successfull??

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:44 am
by 3d0
No, not that I know of. You merely changed the overall_footer.php, it won't affect any essential coding or anything.

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:50 am
by David Palmer
3d0,

Actually, he changed the value in the db. And it's overall_footer.tpl, not overall_footer.php (just in case anyone else tries to do the same thing).

Drifting,

3d0 is right -- you're good to go!

David