Forum Skipped 1 Day - Lots of Problems

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
lumanacom
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:57 pm

Forum Skipped 1 Day - Lots of Problems

Post by lumanacom »

I have been using the forum for two weeks with no problem, suddenly the forum decides to skip a day and I lost everything that happened on the 28th, so that means all posts were deleted and 4 users that signed up were deleted.

PLEASE HELP

selma@lumana.com

http://www.lumana.com/phpbb2/index.php
Last edited by lumanacom on Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

groundfighter
Registered User
Posts: 1909
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Post by groundfighter »

Post your board url.

lumanacom
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by lumanacom »


espicom
Registered User
Posts: 17905
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:14 am
Location: Woodstock, IL

Post by espicom »

Most likely candidate is that your hosting company had a glitch, and restored your forum from the previous day's backups.
Jeff
Fixing 1016/1030/1034 Errors | (obsolete link) | MySQL 4.1/5.x Client Error | phpBBv2 Logo in ACP
Support requests via PM are ignored!
"To be fully alive is to feel that everything is possible." - Eric Hoffer

groundfighter
Registered User
Posts: 1909
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Post by groundfighter »

I would upgrade your board, you may have picked up a hacker your board is out of date, the latest version is 2.0.13 after you upgrade you need to use a good scanning tool to see if there are any admins that are not supposed to be there. Such as this one.

http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=232010

lumanacom
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by lumanacom »

Thanks, Im going to try that right now!

groundfighter
Registered User
Posts: 1909
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Post by groundfighter »

btw, my first though was the one that espicom suggested. However I would not hesitate to upgrade that board and double check for rogue admins.

groundfighter
Registered User
Posts: 1909
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Post by groundfighter »

btw, my first thought was the one that espicom suggested. However I would not hesitate to upgrade that board and double check for rogue admins.

lumanacom
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by lumanacom »

You know, I am really stupid with these things, the first time I installed this feature it was done automattically from my cpanel on my website. I just downloaded the file you sent me and changed the txt thing to php and uploaded it into the phpbb directory, and nothing happened, I also put that file into the admin directory and again nothing... Im confused, do I have to activate it or something??

And maybe this is something to do with my whole site, because I just checked my homepage and it didnt change from when I uploaded my new page on the 28th, could this be a server problem 8O

Im sooo confused :evil:

groundfighter
Registered User
Posts: 1909
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Post by groundfighter »

be careful that windblows didn't change the extension to something like

yourfilename.php.txt

lumanacom
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by lumanacom »

yeah, it didnt its php I just checked.

groundfighter
Registered User
Posts: 1909
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Post by groundfighter »

Did you add the passwords and username inside the file too? Sorry have to check to troubleshoot.

lumanacom
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by lumanacom »

I changed it in one of the sections, the first one you see... Is there more than one place I need to add the password??

i didnt see a username seciton to change/

groundfighter
Registered User
Posts: 1909
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 2:15 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Post by groundfighter »

after you put it in say your phpbb directory run it like this if you haven't tried it... http://mysite.com/phpbb/dbtooz.php of course your paths and filenames need to reflect the actual. :wink:

lumanacom
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by lumanacom »


Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”