Reinstallation help

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
grovest
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:59 am

Reinstallation help

Post by grovest »

so i had phpbb running great till i tried to install a new theme..... alot of things got screwed up so i deleted the board and redownloaded the phpbb files... ive uploaded them to my server. and when i do the install.php page, i geta table 'phpbb_auth_access" already exists... helpppppppp
amjohnno
Registered User
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:19 pm
Location: Derby
Contact:

Post by amjohnno »

Did you delete the tables in the database when you removed your last forum, or did you just delete the files?
DVDs and Stuff.net
"I would like to say hello to my parents and my Shoalin Master, but they are all dead"
grovest
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:59 am

Post by grovest »

i just deleted them... i had gotten that table script.. but wasnt sure what to remove.
tOnk3r
Registered User
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by tOnk3r »

Try editing the config.php file , put in your database info.
If the information is still in the database it should work.
Use this template.

Code: Select all

<?php 

// 
// phpBB 2.x auto-generated config file 
// Do not change anything in this file! 
// 

$dbms = "mysql"; 

$dbhost = "localhost"; 
$dbname = "dbnamehere"; 
$dbuser = "usernamehere"; 
$dbpasswd = "dbpasswordhere"; 

$table_prefix = "phpbb_";  

define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true); 

?>
Put that in your config.php file then go to the index.php file in your browser.
grovest
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:59 am

Post by grovest »

thanksss :)
grovest
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:59 am

Post by grovest »

i dont understand why you have to clean the tables out... wouldnt you get the same message if you tried to install a second board on the same database?
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”