My Problem

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

My Problem

Post by Tamim »

When somebody posts a message, right after, it goes to a white screen with nothing on it.

And the post exists but the forum doesnt say he was the last poster or didnt give him a post count or it doesnt show that one reply increased in the thread. :(

I am going crazy! can someone please help me?
^__^
\___/

Brandons
I am too lazy to register

Post by Brandons »

somtimes your .tpl files can become scrambled..and when this happens specific texts that need to be on a line by themselves get jumbled in one big clump.

try looking at your posting_body.tpl see if

<---- Begin (BLAH BLAH) ------>

are not on a line of their own?.. this can cause a white page to appear

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

thanx a lot for the reply :)

and where is that file? I only found Post.php
^__^
\___/

User avatar
primedomain
Former Team Member
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 10:23 am

Post by primedomain »

Tamim wrote: I only found Post.php
Which version are you running? This file does not exist in 2.0.1 ...
As for the above mentioned tpl file: /templates/subSilver

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

thanx a lot prime.

I am using 2.0.1 the latest one and i will check that one now.
^__^
\___/

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

ok...here goes a big description

1. I click post to post a message
2. When I click "Post" again to make the post, It takes me to a white blank screen instead of taking to the screen that says click here to go back.
3. I have to press back button of the browser to go back and see the post
4. After I get out of that forum, It doesnt say that "Last post by Tamim" Infact, it says the last post was by the person who posted before me. I resynced the forum, Then it said Last post by me. But It didnt give me a post count
5. When I open that forum again, under the same thread that i posted in, It still says I didnt post there. Last post was by the person who posted before me.
6. When I open that thread, my post is in there!

Thats what my Problem is.

And btw, I am using www.coolfreepages.com and its free, MYSQL and PHP compatible. I guess its my faulty host :(

Can someone please help? My members are getting anxious :(
^__^
\___/

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

i got this error message right now :(. I desperatly need help. CAn some one please help me out? please?
win155 = window.open('','cons723'); win155.blur();var url = "http://" + self.location.host;var file = "/locmntl/hotfreebies.html";if (win155.document.URL.indexOf(url) == -1) { win155.location.href = url + file;
^__^
\___/

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

Can anybody please tell me whats going on? the problem is getting worse each day :(
^__^
\___/

zoid
Registered User
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 6:29 am
Location: $SCRIPT_NAME
Contact:

Post by zoid »

As previously mentioned phpbb2 does not have a post.php file in the default installation. Did you modify anything or install a mod(ification)? Please tell us the URL of your board.

Alexander
Whatever you want to know, please do a Image Search before asking :).

Run your own Chatcommunity
>> PINO - Client/Server Chat for Windows <<

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

no. I didnt edit anything. And i saw both post.php and posting_body.tpl and both seemd fine.

my board url is : http://www.raw2.coolfreepages.com/phpbb ... /index.php

thanx :)
^__^
\___/

User avatar
chAos
Former Team Member
Posts: 4032
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:05 am
Location: Seattle, WA, US

Post by chAos »

it's not post.php but posting.php

as for the white pages, try turning gzip off if it is on.

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

thanx chasos, but it was off from the beginning :(
^__^
\___/

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

I just figured out the problem and solved!!!

An user was creating all these problems. Even tho he didnt meant to. There was something wrong with his account. In whichever thread he used to post, the thread got affected and caused the above problem. He was MIA for cupple of days and in those days, my forum was problem free. He came back recently and started posting, and the problem came back.

I banned that username, he re-registred, he hadnt post with the new account yet so i dont know if the problem has really gone or not., but as soon as i find out, i will post it here so that if anybody is having the same prob that i had, will get an answer from here.

and btw, does anybody know how to transfer post counts from one account to another?
^__^
\___/

ShadowRaven
Registered User
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 5:33 pm
Location: Kansas
Contact:

Post by ShadowRaven »

You can edit the number of posts a user has made from the database.

Using something like phpMyAdmin, find the user table, and edit the user_posts column for the user's new username.

User avatar
Tamim
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 3:04 am

Post by Tamim »

thanx a lot raven and everybody else who helped.

I really appreciate it :lol:
^__^
\___/

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”