admin page's version information warning

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

admin page's version information warning

Post by ubtsa » Mon Jun 20, 2005 9:58 pm

i installed a brand new 2.0.15 on the server but i receive this message after logged on to the admin page. and i've tried installing it fresh, but it still keeps giving me this message.



Version Information

Your installation does not seem to be up to date. Updates are available for your version of phpBB, please visit http://www.phpbb.com/downloads.php to obtain the latest version.
The latest available version is phpBB 401.0.0.You are running phpBB 2.0.15.

For the latest information on updates to phpBB, why not subscribe to our mailing list.

User avatar
Darlof
Former Team Member
Posts: 7111
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 7:53 pm
Location: AR, USA
Name: Darrell
Contact:

Post by Darlof » Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:01 pm

Did you download it from here? Did you run the update script? That is definitely not the newest version. It is 2.0.15

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:42 pm

yeah i downloaded from here.
i installed it fresh, not upgrade.
and i just wipped it out and reinstalled it again, but still, it keeps showing it everytime i log on to the admin page.

plus, after i restored a database from another machine (the sql file came off from 2.0.15, too), all the characters are not showing correctly (funny characters), it should be showing traditional chinese encoding just like on the other machine.
i did set the brower encoding to match the language, but then when i click "refresh" or "reload" button, there it goes again....

it only happens when i import a previously existed phpbb database to the new installation. everything shows fine except the warning message on the admin homepage, no funny characters showed on the original database that comes with the new installation.

any ideas?

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:57 pm

here's a snapshot of the error message along with the version showed on the admin homepage.

Image

cybrid3
Registered User
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 4:25 am
Location: Midwest somewhere, I think...
Contact:

Post by cybrid3 » Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:03 am

Only happens after you restore an existing database?

You need to run:

/install/update_to_latest.php

after you restore an older database.
--Never leave home without a towel and peril sensitive sunglasses!!

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:25 am

i just did. no errors showed after updated the database...
==============================================
Information

Database type :: mysql4
Previous version :: 2.0.15
Updated version :: 2.0.15
Updating database schema

Progress :: No updates required
Updating data

Progress :: No updates where required
Updating version and optimizing tables

Progress :: . . Done
Result :: No errors
Update completed

Please make sure you have updated your board files too, this file is only updating your database.

You should now visit the General Configuration settings page in the Administration Panel and check the General Configuration of the board. If you updated from versions prior to RC-3 you must update some entries. If you do not do this emails sent from the board will contain incorrect information. Don't forget to delete this file!
==============================================

but still....the default character encoding is still wrong, users have to set the encoding everytime when the pages reload which is quite annoying...

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:31 am

it doesn't matter if 2 systems are different, right?
the original server is a redhat, the new server that i'm importing the database to is a mandrake, but both are running apache and mysql.

or would it matter if the apache version on the machines are different?

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:36 am

oh and the weird thing is, if i do exactly the same thing on the original server (install a new version and restore the database on the origianl redhat server) , everything works just fine.... :?

any ideas what the problem could be?

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:41 am

this is how it looks like after restoring the original database...

Image

cybrid3
Registered User
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 4:25 am
Location: Midwest somewhere, I think...
Contact:

Post by cybrid3 » Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:23 am

So, is the version problem resolved?

Are we only talking about your encoding problem now, or do you still have both problems?
--Never leave home without a towel and peril sensitive sunglasses!!

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:40 am

i'm still having both problems (encoding & warning message) at the moment. :)

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66921
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:31 am

go to your database and see what it says for version and if it is wrong, change it.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:40 am

ok, it says ".0.15"

ubtsa
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:55 pm

Post by ubtsa » Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:03 am

ok here's what i got...
i just installed tranditional chinese language pack for testing the encoding problem. if the language is set to be in traditional chinese by users, the display is correct without changing the encoding through the browser. but i never used the language pack on the original server and it should not be needing language packs to display non-english content, right?

geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator » Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:03 am

The encoding problem is solved by changing the encoding set in you lang_main.php file.

For the version check, my best guess is that something on your server does not work correctly for the version check, I would just ignore it.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”