Page 1 of 2

Linking to Web Site

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:37 am
by SgtMassacreU2
Hello, I am new here. I did a search which did not result in a match. I think there was something wrong. So I apoligize if this is a repeated question.

No Boos here, but I am using Front Page 2002 on my website. I have my site created, etc. But I can't figure out how to add the "Forum" Link from my Home Page?

I would like to see the "Forums" listed in my left Navigation Bar and have it take me to my forum page "phpBB2" page.

Can someone help me out with this?

Thanks,

John

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:58 am
by espicom
"Frontpage" isn't a host, it's a program for uploading webpages. You need to make sure that your host supports the PHPBB Installation Requirements first.

Your forum will probably be installed in a subdirectory of your website, say, "forum". The link you would put in would be of the form, "<a href=http://www.mydomain.com/forum/>Visit our forums!</a>", somewhere on the page.

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:23 pm
by SgtMassacreU2
Thanks, for your reply. Yes I know what front page is and what it's for. I may have not made myself clear.

From my main website http://computerworkscentral.com on the left side of the Navigation Tabs I would like to add "Forum" When you click on forum it would take you to my forum site http://computerworkscentral.com/phpbb2. I will be changing the phpbb2 part.

I am unsure how to do this. Could someone help me?

Thanks

John

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:24 pm
by SgtMassacreU2

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:59 pm
by beatme101
SgtMassacreU2 wrote: Thanks, for your reply. Yes I know what front page is and what it's for. I may have not made myself clear.

From my main website http://computerworkscentral.com on the left side of the Navigation Tabs I would like to add "Forum" When you click on forum it would take you to my forum site http://computerworkscentral.com/phpbb2. I will be changing the phpbb2 part.

I am unsure how to do this. Could someone help me?

Thanks

John


Perhaps this can help you.

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:07 pm
by ChrisLyon
espicom wrote: "Frontpage" isn't a host


He never said it was.

Copy the forum URL (http://computerworkscentral.com/phpBB2) out of your address bar in your browser and go in to front page. Select the text or image you want to link to and right click. Go to "Hyperlink". In this window you will see a similar address bar at the bottom. Paste your link here and you are set to go!

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:45 pm
by SgtMassacreU2
I tried that but please go to http://www.computerworkscentral.com and click on "Our New Forum" at top of page and see where it takes me. I would like the forum page to show up.

Thanks,

JOhn

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:10 pm
by lupus2k5
You didn't upload index.php . THat's what's giving you a problem.

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:15 pm
by SgtMassacreU2
My index.php disappeared. How can I get it back all my topics, etc are missing?

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:23 pm
by SgtMassacreU2
If I go into my Admin Panel and go to Forum Admin and Choose Management my whole forum page-index topics are there. How can I put this back so normal users can access this so I don't need to recreate the whole thing?

Thanks,

John

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:27 pm
by lupus2k5
Also, after uploading index.php, you might want to add an "index.html" just in case. The code for index.html would be:

Code: Select all

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Refresh" CONTENT="1;URL=index.php">
</HEAD>
<BODY>
<B><FONT FACE="Verdana" SIZE="2">Loading...<BR>If your browser doesn't support <i>META redirection</i>, click <a href="index.php">here</a> to continue.</FONT></B>
</BODY>
</HTML>
This is in case your host doesn't make PHP files default.

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:36 pm
by SgtMassacreU2
Kewl, php is default. Now how can I re-create the index.php page? I can see it from the admin panel. But I need to get it back for the users. I don't want to re-create the forum.

Thanks,

John

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:39 pm
by lupus2k5
I'm not sure about the Admin Panel, but I know that if you go to the forum directory, there is no index.php file. You must be viewing a preview of it. Try going to the downloads section here, open the zipped file of the full version of phpBB, copy the "index.php" file, and paste it in your phpBB2 directory.

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:40 pm
by lupus2k5
And by the way, you won't lose any topics by doing this. Your topics are stored in SQL queries, not in PHP. That's how people can move their forums to different domains, etc. by exporting SQL.

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:42 pm
by lupus2k5
And I still suggest you create the index.html file, because Internet Explorer 4.x and below recognize PHP, but do not see it as a default file, unless your host overrides it. Who hosts your site anyway?