can't upload avatar

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
yagami
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:05 pm
Contact:

can't upload avatar

Post by yagami » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:23 pm

I've install phpBB on orgfree.com,everything goes smoothly, except that all user (include admin), can't upload avatar, even that my avatar directory has been set to read write by everyone, I'm using phpBB 2.0.16.

oh yeah.. my phpBB site is http://j-blue.tk or http://yagami.6te.net/forum0/


EDIT: Removed unnecessary colour.
CTCNetwork
Itsu ma demo yume no naka ni ite

User avatar
CTCNetwork
Former Team Member
Posts: 15424
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2003 3:50 am
Location: In that Volvo behind you!
Contact:

Post by CTCNetwork » Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:00 pm

Hi & Welcome,

Do you get an error message when you try to upload??

Also, having 2 possible means of accessing your forums is not such a good idea....
Messes up your cookies and other settings a treat!!

Des. . . :wink:
Density:- Not just a measurement~Its a whole way of Life.! ! !
| Welcome! | RTFM!!! | Search! It's Easy! | Problem? | Spam? | Advice! |

yagami
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:05 pm
Contact:

Post by yagami » Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:25 pm

there's no error code, it's say that I've successfully upload, but the avatar not show, what shoulkd I do?

about URL, I think It's no problem cause j-blue.tk only redirect, just for my site easy to remember :D


EDIT: Removed unnecessary colour
CTCNetwork
Itsu ma demo yume no naka ni ite

User avatar
CTCNetwork
Former Team Member
Posts: 15424
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2003 3:50 am
Location: In that Volvo behind you!
Contact:

Post by CTCNetwork » Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:56 pm

Hi,

Nor does having no www in the correct url do any good either.

I suspect that warez are not so popular either...

Check with you hosts if you have CHMODed the images/avatars folder to 777 or they have blocked this by other means.

Des. . . :wink:
Density:- Not just a measurement~Its a whole way of Life.! ! !
| Welcome! | RTFM!!! | Search! It's Easy! | Problem? | Spam? | Advice! |

nubby
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 3:59 pm

Post by nubby » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:25 am

same thing happens to my forum, i even CHMOD' all the folders to 777.

i think its a host problem to prevent image hotlinking

UrbanIntensity
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:50 am
Contact:

Post by UrbanIntensity » Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:52 am

I am having the same problem with my mb. I have file permissions for both images/ and /images/avatars set to 777. I have contacted my host and they know of no safeguards that would be preventing the upload.

yagami
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:05 pm
Contact:

Post by yagami » Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:59 pm

directory images and all subdirectory has been change to rwxrwxrwx or 777, but still my avatar can't show, FYI, I'm using Opera v8.01 for uploading avatar
Itsu ma demo yume no naka ni ite

Chops
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:06 am

Post by Chops » Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:17 am

I'm also having this issue but I get "The avatar filetype must be .jpg, .gif or .png" . Any ideas?

geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator » Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:31 am

Chops wrote: I'm also having this issue but I get "The avatar filetype must be .jpg, .gif or .png" . Any ideas?


In includes\usercp_avatar.php find:

Code: Select all

switch( $type )
{
   case 'jpeg':
   case 'pjpeg':
   case 'jpg':
      return '.jpg';
      break;
   case 'gif':
      return '.gif';
      break;
   case 'png':
      return '.png';
      break;
   default:
      $error = true;
      $error_msg = (!empty($error_msg)) ? $error_msg . '<br />' . $lang['Avatar_filetype'] : $lang['Avatar_filetype'];
      break;
}
Change To:

Code: Select all

switch( $type )
{
   case 'jpeg':
   case 'pjpeg':
   case 'image/pjpeg':
   case 'jpg':
      return '.jpg';
      break;
   case 'image/gif':
   case 'gif':
      return '.gif';
      break;
   case 'image/x-png':
   case 'png':
      return '.png';
      break;
   default:
      $error = true;
      $error_msg = (!empty($error_msg)) ? $error_msg . '<br />' . $lang['Avatar_filetype'] : $lang['Avatar_filetype'];
      break;
}

geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator » Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:32 am

For the rest of you, look in the avatar direcotry and see if the images are there.

Chops
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:06 am

Post by Chops » Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:07 am

geocator,

Thanks for the quick response, I've made the changes you suggested and i'm now getting a different problem. No matter how big you up the "allow avatar size" still says it's too big.

Any ideas?

geocator
Registered User
Posts: 16242
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: On dry land
Contact:

Post by geocator » Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:13 am

Hmm, any MODs installed?

Chops
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:06 am

Post by Chops » Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:27 am

Yes, IMPortal and attach_mod_2313

Chops
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:06 am

Post by Chops » Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:32 am

interesting, when you go to User Administration and try from there, it still says: The avatar filetype must be .jpg, .gif or .png

UrbanIntensity
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:50 am
Contact:

Post by UrbanIntensity » Sat Jul 23, 2005 5:57 am

geocator wrote: For the rest of you, look in the avatar direcotry and see if the images are there.


They aren't.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”