Failed sending email :: PHP ::

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Indians

Post by Indians » Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:38 pm

Hello...

I am using

Windows XP Home Edition SP2
Abyss Web Server X1
PHP 5.0.4
MySQL Server 4.1

I have succesfully set up phpbb2 on my server and it works just fine, however.. when i hit register and enter all the info and hit submit, I get the following error

DEBUG MODE

Line : 234
File : emailer.php

*edit.. I have several hosted domains with outside servers, so in the config section of the admin panel I used mail.myserver.com for the SMTP settings, and created an account for forum reply. Still same problem.

This is my first attempt at running a server on my machine.. Could someone lend a hand? Thanks in advance

espicom

Post by espicom » Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:52 pm

When you do not use SMTP for sending email, you're dependent upon your host to have configured PHP to properly handle mail. Guess what? When you're doing your own server like this, that sucky job falls to you... :wink:

In the php.ini file, you will find a section on SMTP. Windows does not provide a sendmail command, so you need to provide SMTP information for a server that will not require any form of authentication or encryption.

Alternatively, if you have an SMTP server available to you that requires AUTH LOGIN authentication, you can configure that through the PHPBB Admin Control Panel. Encrypted SMTP servers, like gmail.com, won't work.
Jeff
Fixing 1016/1030/1034 Errors | (obsolete link) | MySQL 4.1/5.x Client Error | phpBBv2 Logo in ACP
Support requests via PM are ignored!
"To be fully alive is to feel that everything is possible." - Eric Hoffer

Indians

Post by Indians » Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:11 pm

OK , so let me make sure I understand you