How to change IP address of SQL database??

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
tplowe
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:50 am

How to change IP address of SQL database??

Post by tplowe »

My host is changing the IP address where my SQL database resides. How do I change this? The only place I saw this as an option was on the install.
Freestyle XL
Registered User
Posts: 1608
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Freestyle XL »

Edit it in config.php
»AcidTech« »Counter-Strike« »Flower Power« »Getaway« »GreenTech« »Jet«

All styles are updated for phpBB 2.0.21
tplowe
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:50 am

Post by tplowe »

The config.php file has references to the database "name" but it has no references to the actual IP address of the server & the port. This data is input when you install or update phpbb.

I know I could change it with a reinstall but I'm thinking there must be an easier way.
n529834
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 2:27 pm

Post by n529834 »

In config.php

Code: Select all

$dbhost = 'localhost';
replace localhost with IP
Travis
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”