newbie to PHP haven't got a clue !

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
OK-Hairdressing-United

newbie to PHP haven't got a clue !

Post by OK-Hairdressing-United »

hello to u all

i am new to this but i have seen a site which is a m8 of mine and she has a forum with u.

and i noticed that where u register and log in and log out she had other things on there like lottery, jobs, think it was down to a points system as when u make a post on her site u got points which i throuhgt was cool and i wanted one too she told me it was to hard and not to bother but i want one so bad just so i can have them features on.

i have already got forums but with someone else called excoboard

but this is my new thing i would like to do for hairdressing

i have just finished in college level 2 hair and beauty and throught it would be cool to have a forum as im now a full-time-mum.

so having forums is like a hobby of mine but im carefull on wot i go for

one thing is i do not have a clue how to use php

i went with a forum group called

but i want a real php forum so that y im on here.

i got told to get a domain name for my site

now i have another forum called

but now ive made a new one so i can add it to my new site with u

now i have downloaded

phpBB 2.0.17 [ Full Package ]

phpBB 2.0.17 [ Changed Files Only ]

phpBB 2.0.17 [ Patch File Only ]

but dont know where to go on from there so a little bit of help would be helpfull so i have

just so i can have a forum with points on and lottery and a jobs section on there just like my

thanks !
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Post by KevC »

This explains how to install a phpbb forum
http://www.phpbb.com/support/tutorials/