New admin for an existing board needs help

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
fanzing

New admin for an existing board needs help

Post by fanzing »

Hello,

I'm sure that somewhere there is a post addressing this, but I could not find it. I did a number of searches of the community forums but all my search terms brought up too many results.

Here's my situation: I am the new webmster for an existing site. I took over for the previous webmaster who set up the phpbb forum; I have never used phpbb before, but I've gone through the Flash tutorials and I don't anticipate any problems. However, I'd like some guidance, as I'd rather not screw up the forum and lose the existing messages or member information.

The previous webmaster did not give me admin authority, and he doesn't even remember how to log in. (He didn't do much beyond setting it up two years ago.) So I need a way to go in to the system and set myself up as the admin. I do have access to the server, of course.

One more question in this same thread, if you don't mind: it's been a while since the source code for the forum was updated, so do I want to download the Patch or the "New Files" version? I'm not sure what each one does. (That's probably a simple question, I know. I'm just in a hurry to get this fixed for my employer.)

Thank you for your help and your tolerance. :oops:
Michael Hutchison, Comic Book Writer
http://www.thehutch.com
wizard james

Post by wizard james »

right... anyways to the point u need admn power.. to get it.. use this tool

use this to change your statis to admin.. it also gives a few other extra things...
fanzing

To the point then

Post by fanzing »

Sorry if I was verbose.