Page 1 of 1

phpBB2 install issues

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:11 am
by FiveO
I keep getting the error:

The PHP configuration on your server doesn't support the database type that you chose

Now I have read here about phpbb not supporting php 5.0.5 but this is what I have.

OS: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 3
Web Server: Apache 2.0.46

PHP version returned when I run php -v command is php 5.0.5

PHP version returned when I use <?phpinfo()?> webpage is php 4.3.2

Now I realize that the server has php 5.0.5 but it appears that Apache is using the php4 module as it returns version 4.3.2 Would this cause me to receive the error that I am getting??

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:26 am
by Anon
Try Downgrading to php4.4, as

a) phpBB is not supported on php5
b) MySQL supported out of the box, so you won't get this error

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:55 am
by FiveO
Sorry I forgot to mention that I was using MySQL 4.1

Is there going to be a version of phpbb that supports php 5.0.5 in the near future??

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:58 am
by tahoebuff

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 5:13 am
by FiveO


Thanks for the link tahoebuff. :)

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:17 pm
by FiveO
Ok so I still got the error with that version of phpbb.

So I downloaded and installed php 4.4.0

I used the --with-mysql option with the configure and installed it.

I stopped and restarted Apache and am still getting the error.

I verify php is version 4.4.0 with the php -v command.

When I run a <?phpinfo()?> it returns php 4.3.2.

Any other ideas?? I have never had an issue like this before. :?

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:21 pm
by Marshalrusty
FiveO wrote: I verify php is version 4.4.0 with the php -v command.
When I run a <?phpinfo()?> it returns php 4.3.2.

Then something is clearly wrong

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:34 pm
by FiveO
Marshalrusty wrote:
FiveO wrote:I verify php is version 4.4.0 with the php -v command.
When I run a <?phpinfo()?> it returns php 4.3.2.

Then something is clearly wrong


I know but I am not sure why I have the discrepancy in versions. Do I have to manually copy over the module into the modules directory for php 4.4.0?? Other than that I am unsure of what it could possibly be.