Page 1 of 1

How do I remove or change the phpbb logo?

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:15 am
by safauset
I asked this questions many times but I can't understand the responses...I need someone to tell how I can change it with directions like go to forum admin....group admin...general admin....which one is it in?

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:31 am
by SER
It's not something you do from the admin panel.

The easy way to do it is to name the image you want to replace it with:
logo_phpBB.gif

Then, use your FTP program and upload it to:
templates/subSilver/images
Let it replace (Over write) the current logo_phpBB.gif that is in that folder.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:33 am
by Andrew Kucienski
If you want to do it from the control panel, install this mod: http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... light=logo

Manual Editing in....

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:22 am
by RancerDS
Under the phpBB2 folders, you'll find /templates,

In each of your sub-folders for the various styles (like /subSilver), you'll have to edit a *.tpl file. Open the overall_header.tpl file, find the string "logo_phpBB.gif" and replace it with the name of your graphic. You'll have to make sure your graphic is located in the /images subfolder of each style.


Long, Current file path:
../templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl
../templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif


SUGGESTION: Make a backup of your files BEFORE you change them.

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:14 am
by ABCDiamond
SER wrote: It's not something you do from the admin panel.

The easy way to do it is to name the image you want to replace it with:
logo_phpBB.gif

Then, use your FTP program and upload it to:
templates/subSilver/images
Let it replace (Over write) the current logo_phpBB.gif that is in that folder.

That's the way I did mine. It seemed the easiest way :)

I was puzzled at first though, as there wasn't a file to overwrite. But once uploaded it worked perfectly.

PS: Depending on how you installed phpBB, you may have to get your files transferred from the server to your computer. My install process put them direct to my IP, and did not install them on my computer, so I had fun and games at first workig out what to do, as I had nothing to do it on :)

Got there in the end though..

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:13 am
by SER
It is the easy way. :P
There is a plus to just replacing the image with a different one of the same name, and that is:

During an upgrade from one version to the next, if the overall_header.tpl file gets changed, you won't have to edit it again to switch the logo back to your own. :P :P