Guide to embed phpbb

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
User avatar
NeoID
Registered User
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Guide to embed phpbb

Post by NeoID » Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:11 pm

Does there exsist a easy way, or a guide that "show" or explains how it's
possible to embed the phpbb forum into a already existing page-layout?
I've tried to edit the index_body file, but that didn't work... :?
Norsk Anime Forum
http://www.AnimeNord.com

malcolmW
Registered User
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 8:56 pm
Location: Winderton, Oxon, England
Contact:

An answer?

Post by malcolmW » Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:38 pm

Not sure that I understand the question - but here goes...

I'm assuming that you already have a site running and want to add phpbb as a discussion forum within that site.

Let's say that you have this structure:

mydomain/index.html as your 'top' page

You have created:

mydomain/phpbb2/..... with all the phpbb code in it

In your phpbb configuration you must set the script path to '/phpbb2/'

On you top index page you would add a link something like:

<a href="phpbb2/index.php"> Chat on my new BB </a>


HTH
Best Regards
Mal

sngskunk
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:22 am

Post by sngskunk » Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:27 pm

I think he is talking about how to include it into a site like this site.

http://www.complexityclan.com/forums/

I do not know how to do it though. Sorry!

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66921
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:17 am

the easiest way is to edit the overall_header.tpl and overall_footer.tpl files to make them look like the rest of your site.

go here and download one or more of these styles, open up the overall_header.tpl files and you will see one way of doing it
you would take your regular page html and insert it into the tpl file.
Portal Styles
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

User avatar
NeoID
Registered User
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by NeoID » Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:19 am

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote: the easiest way is to edit the overall_header.tpl and overall_footer.tpl files to make them look like the rest of your site.

go here and download one or more of these styles, open up the overall_header.tpl files and you will see one way of doing it
you would take your regular page html and insert it into the tpl file.
Portal Styles


Sorry for my bad english. I'll give it a try, thank you... :)
Norsk Anime Forum
http://www.AnimeNord.com

Shargo
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:09 pm

Post by Shargo » Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:58 am

why dont you try Inline Frame?

I am currently working on mine to make it look like my normal webpage.
Here take a look at it
http://shargo.uni.cc/forum.htm

btw my web is still under construction lolz since ever

User avatar
NeoID
Registered User
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by NeoID » Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:04 am

Shargo wrote: why dont you try Inline Frame?


I'm a designer, not a coder, but I don't think using a frame is the best
solution. The second thing is that I'm afraid of getting trouble with my bridged
coppermine gallery or the rest of my stuff were you are required to be
logged on.... However, I don't really know, that's just things I've heart/read
on this board... :)

Edit: And I there will probably be more coding that have to be changed within the phpbb forum in order to work with inline frame!?
Norsk Anime Forum
http://www.AnimeNord.com

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66921
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:48 am

neox3 wrote:
Shargo wrote:why dont you try Inline Frame?


I'm a designer, not a coder, but I don't think using a frame is the best
solution. The second thing is that I'm afraid of getting trouble with my bridged
coppermine gallery or the rest of my stuff were you are required to be
logged on.... However, I don't really know, that's just things I've heart/read
on this board... :)

Edit: And I there will probably be more coding that have to be changed within the phpbb forum in order to work with inline frame!?


yes, using the iframes you will run into cookie problems sometimes , login will redirect you out of the frame, etc. all of these things can be overcome, but there is no need for it.

as a designer, the type of thing I showed you should be no problem. the phpbb tpl pages are just html using css and tables like any other web page.

just add your code to replace some of the phpbb code in the overall_header.tpl file.

create a whole new one if you want. just keep the necessary phpbb variables in it for the links, etc., and you will be fine.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

User avatar
NeoID
Registered User
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by NeoID » Sun Dec 11, 2005 12:22 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote: as a designer, the type of thing I showed you should be no problem. the phpbb tpl pages are just html using css and tables like any other web page.


All the tpl files are created by tables, is it possible to use divs instead? If so,
maybe I just could copy-paste my current code into the tpl files... :?
Norsk Anime Forum
http://www.AnimeNord.com

tomythius
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 3:05 pm
Location: Queniborough - Leicester - UK
Contact:

Post by tomythius » Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:00 pm

My first piece of advice: Make backups.
Secondly: There may be a template 'out there' that already uses layers (read: divs) as you were suggesting. Converting each file yourself would be a huge job, but adapting an existing template would be easier.
Tom says so, QED.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66921
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Dec 11, 2005 6:06 pm

true, however to just edit the overall_header.tpl file, you can put whatever code you want in there. it is just html and css , so use what you want to and test.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

Dave Bean
Registered User
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2001 4:55 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Post by Dave Bean » Sun Dec 11, 2005 6:46 pm

just edit the overall_header.tpl file
It's probably because I don't understand .tpl files. I've been able to place html there, but how would we place php code? For example I have php code that displays menu tabs differently depending on the active page or perhaps call code other than phpbb to display an article page.

I've bumped into this issue before.
Thanks.

MarkTheDaemon
Former Team Member
Posts: 2770
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:42 am
Location: United Kingdom
Name: Mark Barnes

Post by MarkTheDaemon » Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:48 pm

You need the extreme styles mod to put php code in tpl files


Mark

Jor-el
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:01 am

Post by Jor-el » Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:07 am

yes, using the iframes you will run into cookie problems sometimes , login will redirect you out of the frame, etc. all of these things can be overcome, but there is no need for it.

as a designer, the type of thing I showed you should be no problem. the phpbb tpl pages are just html using css and tables like any other web page.

just add your code to replace some of the phpbb code in the overall_header.tpl file.

create a whole new one if you want. just keep the necessary phpbb variables in it for the links, etc., and you will be fine.


robert

I ran into the login problem when using iframes. Becuase I'm almost finished with my website, I'd rather not have to redesign it. Could you please give me a hint how to overcome this and other problems with iframes?

/Jor-el

Dave Bean
Registered User
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2001 4:55 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Contact:

Post by Dave Bean » Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:14 pm

I did not go the Iframe route. In my situation which was different in that I wanted to do dynamic changes to the templates - I used the extreme styles mod. Seemed like an overkill, but worked for me and easy to do.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”