Help Please

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
NjRocket8
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:16 pm

Help Please

Post by NjRocket8 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:52 am

Ok guys, I'm trying to install the forums. It keeps saying i can't connect to database on my server. So i went into MySQL and make a db, username and password. Then when i type in the information i still get the same error. I change the config to 666. My question is, after i just add the db to my server in cpanel under MySQL, is there anything else i must do so that the server knows it? Do i have to change any of the php stuff on any of the files or anything? I'm really lost about this database stuff, please explain what else i got to do, i'd really appreciate it. Once username and db are made in cpanel, what else do i do so that it can connect to db.
Image

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29253
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Post by Marshalrusty » Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:21 am

When you run install.php, make sure that you are entering the correct info. "localhost" may not always work. Your host should be able to give you the correct info.
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

NjRocket8
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:16 pm

Post by NjRocket8 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:13 am

ok, i'm trying to contact the host about the information. When i get the information, besides changing the config file permissions to 666, should i be ready to install the forums or do i have to change other options or such?
Image

who_cares
Registered User
Posts: 5106
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: ATL
Contact:

Post by who_cares » Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:22 am

you need a database with an account set up
fill out the install form.
once config.php is written you can change the CHMOD back to 644

igeoffi
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:39 pm

Post by igeoffi » Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:24 am

besides changing the config file permissions to 666,

777 would be better
once config.php is written you can change the CHMOD back to 644

i lke to leave it at 777

who_cares
Registered User
Posts: 5106
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: ATL
Contact:

Post by who_cares » Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:26 am

igeoffi wrote:
besides changing the config file permissions to 666,

777 would be better
once config.php is written you can change the CHMOD back to 644

that would not be a wise choice

why would you recommend either of those?

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29253
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Post by Marshalrusty » Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:34 am

Completely with who_cares on this. Config.php should be set to 644 after installation.
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”