A few questions regarding a forums conversion...

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

A few questions regarding a forums conversion...

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:13 pm

Ok i currently have a set of phpbb2 forums set up on a 24/7 server in my house (groan) and they have got so popular that it is seriously zapping up all my bandwidth.

My first question is, is it possible assuming i have a remote server hosted for me to just transfer everything over to that without losing any users details post counts or posts thyemselves?

Providing i dont lose anything i have started to set it up on a server and installed phpbb2 but i cant access the admin page it gives me this message:

http://pearcy.homeftp.org/adminerror.jpg

What you guys think?

m3zzr
Registered User
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: St. Helens, UK
Contact:

Post by m3zzr » Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:26 pm

all you would have to do is back up your database and restore it to your hosting account..

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Fri Jan 27, 2006 8:24 am

Yer kool thats good.

But obviously i cant do that without my admin panel any ideas?

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:47 pm

---
Last edited by [ost]~9*DeMoN on Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:48 pm

Please?

User avatar
Drexion
Former Team Member
Posts: 8892
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 9:54 pm
Location: City 17

Post by Drexion » Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:58 pm

The basic steps you need to move your forum are in this article,
http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=9
Basically transfer the database, the forum files, and change the config.php to suit.

You can use say phpMyAdmin to backup/restore the database.
http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=59

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:30 pm

Wicked cheers for that!

But it still dont explain why the admin panel aint working its essential that i have it.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66897
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:24 pm

that error is because you don't have the correct domain name and/or script path set in the database.
First , get this:
Auto Cookies MOD
then, unzip it to your computer,
then create a folder named "install" on your server, inside your phpbb folder.

then upload the cookie.php file to that folder,

then , in your browser, go to:
yourdomain.com/yourphpbbb/install/cookie.php

then click the button to accept the settings it finds.

then delete the install folder.

Then you and all your members MUST do the cookie dance:

step 1. log out
step 2. clear your browser cookie
step 3. clear your browser cache/temporary internet files
step 4. close your browser
step 5. go back and test
step 6. hold one foot in the air and spin around three time
singing "Do the Cookie Dance, yeah, yeah, yeah."

done.
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Sat Jan 28, 2006 9:22 pm

Brilliant thanks for that.

Next problem is that i get this error message.

Image

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:06 am

As im uploading my 30mb backup file right as its about to finish it gives me that error message its soo annoying.

User avatar
christhatsme
Registered User
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:42 am
Location: London, UK

Post by christhatsme » Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:18 am

well it seems to me your forum is behind the cpanel...
All MOD downloads should be back now - Sorry for that and serious lack of support! - If anyone wants to take over or help with any of my MODs the offer would be apreciated as I have little time for phpBB Modding recently!

Again very sorry for not supporting these MODs recently.

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:21 am

Yer i spose it must be.

How do i fix that?

PS sorry if this is all noobish ive never run it on a remote server before or ever had one for that matter so i dont know much a bout it.

[ost]~9*DeMoN
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by [ost]~9*DeMoN » Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:58 am

What you guys think?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66897
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Jan 29, 2006 5:31 pm

man, that is one irritating sig file.

anyway, I don't know what that comment about being behind the cpanel means, cpanel is just the hosting control panel that most everyone uses.

anyway, that error usually means that you have a file permissions error , or some other type of server setup problem, it is not a phpbb error.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

p3980
Registered User
Posts: 1311
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 5:02 pm

Post by p3980 » Sun Jan 29, 2006 5:34 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote: man, that is one irritating sig file.

Agreed...
Support Request Template <> Knowledge Base<>starfoxtj's Admin Toolkit
Member of the Unofficial Forum for phpBB.com Supporters
Image

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”