where so i go to add this,

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
bigmrp1
Registered User
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:51 pm

where so i go to add this,

Post by bigmrp1 »

i could do with adding a line of text, more a warning when you post, i sould do with it being just under where it says post a new topic in the picture shown below,

can anyone tell me what file to edit please, thanks you guys,

Image
SER
Registered User
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 6:09 am
Location: N 34 3 8 / W 118 14 33

Post by SER »

If you want it to be the same size and color, you could edit the language file:
{root}/language/lang_english/lang_main.php
Find around line 311

Code: Select all

$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Post a new topic';
Add a break and your new line like this:

Code: Select all

$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Post a new topic<br />THIS IS YOUR SECOND LINE UNDER THE OTHER TEXT';
Only edit after the = and between the two '.
Visual Guide to Avatar Galleries
The Unoficial Staff Forum For The Unofficial Support Team | Join me at HauntX Remember, if it's Haunted, it's here!
"Support helps those who help themselves." | "You can lead a fool to wisdom, but you cannot make him think."
bigmrp1
Registered User
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:51 pm

Post by bigmrp1 »

SER wrote: If you want it to be the same size and color, you could edit the language file:
{root}/language/lang_english/lang_main.php
Find around line 311

Code: Select all

$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Post a new topic';
Add a break and your new line like this:

Code: Select all

$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Post a new topic<br />THIS IS YOUR SECOND LINE UNDER THE OTHER TEXT';
Only edit after the = and between the two '.


thanks for the help, if i want it in red ?
SER
Registered User
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 6:09 am
Location: N 34 3 8 / W 118 14 33

Post by SER »

bigmrp1 wrote:
SER wrote:If you want it to be the same size and color, you could edit the language file:
{root}/language/lang_english/lang_main.php
Find around line 311

Code: Select all

$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Post a new topic';
Add a break and your new line like this:

Code: Select all

$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Post a new topic<br />THIS IS YOUR SECOND LINE UNDER THE OTHER TEXT';
Only edit after the = and between the two '.


thanks for the help, if i want it in red ?


Then:

Code: Select all

$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Post a new topic<br /><font color=#ff0000>THIS IS YOUR SECOND LINE UNDER THE OTHER TEXT</font>';
Visual Guide to Avatar Galleries
The Unoficial Staff Forum For The Unofficial Support Team | Join me at HauntX Remember, if it's Haunted, it's here!
"Support helps those who help themselves." | "You can lead a fool to wisdom, but you cannot make him think."
bigmrp1
Registered User
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:51 pm

Post by bigmrp1 »

thanks mate that been a great help, ill add it now :wink:
bigmrp1
Registered User
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:51 pm

Post by bigmrp1 »

bigmrp1 wrote: thanks mate that been a great help, ill add it now :wink:


also do i remove the old line & replace ? also can i get rid on the words "post a new topic" ?

thanks for the help
SER
Registered User
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 6:09 am
Location: N 34 3 8 / W 118 14 33

Post by SER »

bigmrp1 wrote:
bigmrp1 wrote:thanks mate that been a great help, ill add it now :wink:


also do i remove the old line & replace ? also can i get rid on the words "post a new topic" ?

thanks for the help


You just edit that line.
Yes, you can remove "post a new topic" if you wish.
Whatever you put in between the' and ' is what will show up.
Example, What is in red here would be the text that shows up in the page:
$lang['Post_a_new_topic'] = 'Please keep your post on Topic';

That would replace "post a new topic" with "Please keep your post on Topic"

Also note:
If you want to use an ' in the text, like: it's
you need to add a \ like so:
it\'s
or you will get an error.
The \ will not be displayed on the screen.
Visual Guide to Avatar Galleries
The Unoficial Staff Forum For The Unofficial Support Team | Join me at HauntX Remember, if it's Haunted, it's here!
"Support helps those who help themselves." | "You can lead a fool to wisdom, but you cannot make him think."
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”