Help: Two forums using same database (1 Windows - 1 Linux)

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
Seraphic
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:20 am

Help: Two forums using same database (1 Windows - 1 Linux)

Post by Seraphic »

Hi,

I'm having trouble mirroring my windows forum onto a Linux server.

The Windows forum will be the master and the Linux forum will be the slave. No new users will signup or post from the Linux forum. I merely need it to control user access for a download program that is also on the Linux server. I need the Linux version of the forum stay updated with the windows version. IE - members, their post counts, and what usergroups they are in.

I copied my forum files to the Linux server but when I try to load the index.php I get...

Code: Select all

Warning: mysql_connect(): Lost connection to MySQL server during query in db/mysql4.php on line 48

Warning: mysql_error(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in db/mysql4.php on line 330

Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in db/mysql4.php on line 331
phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database
Any ideas?

Thanks
who_cares
Registered User
Posts: 5106
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: ATL
Contact:

Post by who_cares »

looks like your MySQL server failed
you should let your host know
Seraphic
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:20 am

Post by Seraphic »

The server seems to be fine as the windows version of the forum loads fine.

I think the issue is that the server path in the SQL database is set to the file path on the windows server. Thus, the Linux version isn't loading. I could be wrong though.
who_cares
Registered User
Posts: 5106
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: ATL
Contact:

Post by who_cares »

Seraphic wrote: I think the issue is that the server path in the SQL database is set to the file path on the windows server. Thus, the Linux version isn't loading. I could be wrong though.

Sound's good to me,

the point of that error is that phpBB can't make a connection to the database.
Not much I can do as I don't know much about your host or server setup
Seraphic
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:20 am

Post by Seraphic »

I've got it working now.

I just needed to change the IP in the config file to my server's secondary IP.
Seraphic
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:20 am

Post by Seraphic »

One issue has come up.

When I login from the Linux forum I’m sent to the Windows version of it. The issue seems to be in the login.php but I don't see anything telling it to direct to the other forum.

Any thoughts?
IndieDesigns
Registered User
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:28 pm
Location: phpbb_users
Contact:

Post by IndieDesigns »

That would be due to the server_name and script_path fields in phpbb_config
~ Mods/Hacks Installed, Unique Templates, Updates and Repairs... Professional Service, Reasonable Rates. ~ PM or Email Me ~Large Databases Repaired and Restored ~ Get Nicely Hosted ~
Seraphic
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:20 am

Post by Seraphic »

Is it possible to have users stay at the forum where they login? (IE - Windows/Windows or Linux/Linux)

Or can there only be one path at a time?
who_cares
Registered User
Posts: 5106
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: ATL
Contact:

Post by who_cares »

~AJK~
Registered User
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:19 pm
Location: Not sure anymore

Post by ~AJK~ »

You may also want to look at this mod: http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... ple+domain
If the solutions posted above worked can you add [SOLVED] to beginning the subject of your first post to help others? Click on the "EDIT" button next to your FIRST post in the thread.
Click the following: Help for Newbies | Support Request Template
No PM's Please
Seraphic
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:20 am

Post by Seraphic »

~AJK~ wrote: You may also want to look at this mod: http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... ple+domain


Thanks, that mod worked.
~AJK~
Registered User
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:19 pm
Location: Not sure anymore

Post by ~AJK~ »

You are welcome.
If the solutions posted above worked can you add [SOLVED] to beginning the subject of your first post to help others? Click on the "EDIT" button next to your FIRST post in the thread.
Click the following: Help for Newbies | Support Request Template
No PM's Please
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”