Page 1 of 1

Help with making a new smiley pack

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:25 am
by grantjones
I made a .zip file with winzip and a zipped .rar file with winrar but i couldnt make a smiley pack. Can someone help me with what to do, step by step?


I did everything it said, like if there was a bmp file i'd put pic.bmp, but do i put like C:/My Computer/Documents and Settings/Administrator/My Pictures/pic.bmp? It's not showing up under import smiley pack.

Re: Help with making a new smiley pack

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:29 am
by Lumpy Burgertushie
grantjones wrote: I made a .zip file with winzip and a zipped .rar file with winrar but i couldnt make a smiley pack. Can someone help me with what to do, step by step?


a pak file is not a compression type.

it is just a text file with the list of smilies in it.

:) happy

etc.

when you have them all listed, you save it with a .pak extension. and upload it and your gif images to the smilies folder and then add it through the admin panel.

this will help.
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=130437
robert

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:51 am
by grantjones
I did everything it said, like if there was a bmp file i'd put pic.bmp, but do i put like C:/My Computer/Documents and Settings/Administrator/My Pictures/pic.bmp? It's not showing up under import smiley pack.

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:14 am
by Newkirk
Are you using the MOD?

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:18 am
by grantjones
The Dunghill_dave thing? Yeah. I tried putting the whole thing (Ex.: C:\Documents and Settings\Grant Jones\My Documents\My Pictures\Smileys\name.bmp) and just the last part (Ex.: name.bmp) and neither worked...i mean for file name that is.

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:26 am
by grantjones
Am I using the right thing? I'd rather get the Dunghill_Dave php thing working since i already have it...so can you help me with that? I did what the page said i'm guessing the discription is like the name and the code is what you type to make it show up in the forum but im not sure about the Filename part.

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:15 am
by Lumpy Burgertushie
first, don't use bitmamps, they are windows image files and won't always work on the internet.

then,

I have never used the script you are trying to use, but I doubt you can use it on your computer, it probably has to be installed on the server to run it.


robert