Users cannot register on site (error inside) default install

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
Blindf8th
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 12:03 pm

Users cannot register on site (error inside) default install

Post by Blindf8th »

I apologize as I'm sure this is a n00blet mistake, but after searching a few random ideas and reading through several pages I decided to post.

When a user/member tries to join I'm receiving the following message "The confirmation code you entered was incorrect".

I have no idea what thats referring to and since I see no confirmation code I'm a little lost.

This is a default installation...

Thanks in advance for any assistance...

Blindf8th

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

A link to your board would be useful as would completing the Support request template

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

Blindf8th
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 12:03 pm

Post by Blindf8th »

Jim_UK wrote: A link to your board would be useful as would completing the Support request template

Jim


Ouch my bad...

Your phpBB board URL: http://www.farlonline.com/boards/
Template(s) used: FI Theme
Any and all MODs: n/a
Do you use a port of phpBB: dont think so
Version of phpBB: 2
Version of PHP: unsure
Which database server and version: unsure
Host: godaddy
Did someone install this for you/who: no, I did
Is this an upgrade/from what to what: no, fresh install
Is this a conversion/from what to what: no
Have you searched for your problem: a couple of times
If so, what terms did you try:
State the nature of your problem: error when trying to register as a new user "The confirmation code you entered was incorrect"
Do you have a test account for us: no test account needed as it happens upon regisration for a first time user.

toppbuzz
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by toppbuzz »

lol try turning caps ''On''

lol u wud be surpirsed od howmany peeps forgot this

Blindf8th
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 12:03 pm

Post by Blindf8th »

toppbuzz wrote: lol try turning caps ''On''

lol u wud be surpirsed od howmany peeps forgot this


No go... Under my registration page I'm receiving the same error even if I have CAPS turned on.

Maybe I'm missing something :dunno:

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

toppbuzz wrote: lol try turning caps ''On''

lol u wud be surpirsed od howmany peeps forgot this


Did you actually go to the site and have a look?
The confirmation code that it is saying is wrong is not there at all.

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

Blindf8th
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 12:03 pm

Post by Blindf8th »

Jim_UK wrote:
toppbuzz wrote:lol try turning caps ''On''

lol u wud be surpirsed od howmany peeps forgot this


Did you actually go to the site and have a look?
The confirmation code that it is saying is wrong is not there at all.

Jim


I just realized that thats the issue. The option is checked, but apparently does not list. Any idears?

Thanks...

biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

Some of your template files (possible some php files) do not have the code required to display the activation code..

See if this sheds any light on the matter..

http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=329
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

Blindf8th
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 12:03 pm

Post by Blindf8th »

biscuitkeeper wrote: Some of your template files (possible some php files) do not have the code required to display the activation code..

See if this sheds any light on the matter..

http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=329


Might be a little beyond my scope to work through, but this will hopefully be enough for a n00blet like me.

Thanks much...

biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

In actual fact since it is clear to see that your template does not have the requred code..

How to add Visual Confirmation to outdated templates will maybe be of more use to you.
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

Blindf8th
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 12:03 pm

Post by Blindf8th »

biscuitkeeper wrote: In actual fact since it is clear to see that your template does not have the requred code..

How to add Visual Confirmation to outdated templates will maybe be of more use to you.


Thanks a million bro :D

biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

Looks good m8.. one final thing to finish it off though, the classes for your theme are slightly different so..

open: profile_add_body.tpl

find:

Code: Select all

<td class="row1"><span class="gen">{L_CONFIRM_CODE}: * </span><br />
replace with:

Code: Select all

<td class="row1"><span class="explaintitle">{L_CONFIRM_CODE}:  </span>*<br />

That will give the "Confirmation Code *" description title the right font properties :wink:
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”