Installing Problem

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Installing Problem

Post by PeterLancs »

Hey all i have put all the info and database names down and when i click "Start Install" it thinks... and then wants to download INSTALL.PHP any help please? cheers

peter

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

should i say

Post by PeterLancs »

should i say

in Firefox it wants to download the Install.php file and explorer comes up with a page cannot be found :(

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by PeterLancs »

i have tried a number of databases and they come up with 'critical error'

ckwalsh
Former Team Member
Posts: 1837
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:50 am
Location: Seattle, USA
Name: Cullen Walsh
Contact:

Post by ckwalsh »

You need to have access to a database before installing the board.

Who are you using for your host? They might provide you with a database
Where to post what | Forum Rules | The Dos and Don'ts of General Discussion
In Seattle and want to meet, chat, or have a coffee? Drop me a PM.

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by PeterLancs »

i do have a database im using cpanel

http://cpanel.byethost15.com

see if you can make anything of it and the details i should put in??



Image

biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

Does your host handle php?

create a new file called phpinfo.php containing the following:

Code: Select all

<?php 
phpinfo(); 
?>
Upload it to your website (anywhere as long as you know where) and open it in the browser www.domain.com/phpinfo.php (this will tell you one if you can run php.. and two the version.
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by PeterLancs »


biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

Am i right to say that you are trying to install the phpbb as a service offered by your host.. (rather than downloading, uploading an installing) ? Kindof like a one click install thing.
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by PeterLancs »

no i downloaded the phpBB2 stuff and am trying to install it i mean i am more of a flash/actionscript and html kinda person im a designer as a job but ive never in my life installed PHPBB

http://www.affordablepcsolutions.co.uk/ ... nstall.php

biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

Is it definitlely install.php it is trying to download and not config.php?
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by PeterLancs »

yeah its install.php i dunno why, and i know why ur askin about the config but no its definatly the install.php,

can someone install it for me ^_^ :lol: lmao!

biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

It can only be installed with the database name and user:pass combination which you don't want to be handing out to anyone :lol:

I suggest the following options..

MySql 4.x/5.x
Install
your database name
your database username
your database password
your database prefix (if different)

like a honda.. it should just work!
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by PeterLancs »

ah could you explain :p

????????????????????????????????
your database prefix (if different)
????????????????????????????????

ta

biscuitkeeper
Registered User
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:44 am
Location: NE Scotland

Post by biscuitkeeper »

You have the option to set a prefix for the tables.. this allows phpBB to give each table an identifying key so it might create phpbb_users, phpbb_config if you have a preference for it not be "phpbb_" then change it 8)
Patience of a Saint :: Memory of a Goldfish.

PeterLancs
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by PeterLancs »

well its not because of that then, i wish it was esier, well when i get home ill use the mySQL database that was provided to me by my host please keep checking here cheers! :)

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”