Page 1 of 2

Installing Problem

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:13 pm
by PeterLancs
Hey all i have put all the info and database names down and when i click "Start Install" it thinks... and then wants to download INSTALL.PHP any help please? cheers

peter

should i say

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:18 pm
by PeterLancs
should i say

in Firefox it wants to download the Install.php file and explorer comes up with a page cannot be found :(

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:24 pm
by PeterLancs
i have tried a number of databases and they come up with 'critical error'

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:47 pm
by ckwalsh
You need to have access to a database before installing the board.

Who are you using for your host? They might provide you with a database

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:51 pm
by PeterLancs
i do have a database im using cpanel

http://cpanel.byethost15.com

see if you can make anything of it and the details i should put in??



Image

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:53 pm
by biscuitkeeper
Does your host handle php?

create a new file called phpinfo.php containing the following:

Code: Select all

<?php 
phpinfo(); 
?>
Upload it to your website (anywhere as long as you know where) and open it in the browser www.domain.com/phpinfo.php (this will tell you one if you can run php.. and two the version.

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 1:57 pm
by PeterLancs

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:13 pm
by biscuitkeeper
Am i right to say that you are trying to install the phpbb as a service offered by your host.. (rather than downloading, uploading an installing) ? Kindof like a one click install thing.

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:18 pm
by PeterLancs
no i downloaded the phpBB2 stuff and am trying to install it i mean i am more of a flash/actionscript and html kinda person im a designer as a job but ive never in my life installed PHPBB

http://www.affordablepcsolutions.co.uk/ ... nstall.php

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:32 pm
by biscuitkeeper
Is it definitlely install.php it is trying to download and not config.php?

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:36 pm
by PeterLancs
yeah its install.php i dunno why, and i know why ur askin about the config but no its definatly the install.php,

can someone install it for me ^_^ :lol: lmao!

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:53 pm
by biscuitkeeper
It can only be installed with the database name and user:pass combination which you don't want to be handing out to anyone :lol:

I suggest the following options..

MySql 4.x/5.x
Install
your database name
your database username
your database password
your database prefix (if different)

like a honda.. it should just work!

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:56 pm
by PeterLancs
ah could you explain :p

????????????????????????????????
your database prefix (if different)
????????????????????????????????

ta

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 3:00 pm
by biscuitkeeper
You have the option to set a prefix for the tables.. this allows phpBB to give each table an identifying key so it might create phpbb_users, phpbb_config if you have a preference for it not be "phpbb_" then change it 8)

Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 3:03 pm
by PeterLancs
well its not because of that then, i wish it was esier, well when i get home ill use the mySQL database that was provided to me by my host please keep checking here cheers! :)