Page 2 of 3

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:25 pm
by onit
EagleWing wrote:
Is there a way to view/practice on the forum (I copied EVERY file that I have uploaded to the site)
This way I could see if it worked before I upload it.


Not without another database running the same config....
in other words, NO....(not that I know of)

IMPORTANT: if you are running your forum with a diff theme than 'subsilver' then you will be opening the 'index_body.tpl' from in your themes folder, not the 'subsilver' folder....same with the 'overall_footer' file.


you might wonder "why didnt it work" if you didnt use 'your' theme.

BTW, what is the URL of you forum??
I think Im starting to get it.. one question though... do I inclide the # when editing? their everywhere in the mod
The forum is http://corvette.coolflame.net/forum/

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:31 pm
by EagleWing
do I inclide the # when editing? their everywhere in the mod


NO no no....

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#
  <tr> 
	<td class="row1" align="center" valign="middle" rowspan="2"><img src="templates/subSilver/images/whosonline.gif" alt="{L_WHO_IS_ONLINE}" /></td>
#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]------------------------------------------
#
  <tr> 
	<td class="row1" align="center" valign="middle" rowspan="3"><img src="templates/subSilver/images/whosonline.gif" alt="{L_WHO_IS_ONLINE}" /></td>

#
ALL you will want to copy to replace is:

Code: Select all

<tr> 
	<td class="row1" align="center" valign="middle" rowspan="3"><img src="templates/subSilver/images/whosonline.gif" alt="{L_WHO_IS_ONLINE}" /></td>


so NO, do everything in between, but not the #

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:37 pm
by onit
Thanks EagleWing, i figured that out...pretty dumb question now that i think about it

One question though
If I screw this up will I be able to upload the original files back to the ftp and have the forum working the way it was before I tried to install the mod?

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:42 pm
by EagleWing
YES...as long as they were NOT modified with another MOD before this one....then you will lose that MOD too....

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:45 pm
by onit
EagleWing wrote: YES...as long as they were NOT modified with another MOD before this one....then you will lose that MOD too....
cool :lol:
I hope i can get it to work :roll:

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:52 pm
by EagleWing
im keepin an eye on it ....just REGed to it

got it working just fine on 1 of my 4 forums so far....if nothing else, thnx for the tip on this cool lil MOD.... :lol:

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:56 pm
by onit
should I disable the forum while I install this mod?
I think the index.php changes as traffic occours

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:00 pm
by EagleWing
I wouldn't....i never have before...

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:07 pm
by onit
Ut OH!
Where do I find --[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------
#
language/lang_english/lang_main.php

Is it in the template Im working on?

Thanks for your help EagleWing

EDIT>>> I found it....Duh :oops:

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:10 pm
by EagleWing
NO...in your main folder area...language folder

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:12 pm
by EagleWing
BTW, you dont have to do the LAST FILE to test the MOD....thats just for the writer's add/copywrite....(the overall_footer' step)

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:15 pm
by onit
Do I have to upload the modified files in the same order as I modified them?

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:16 pm
by EagleWing
NO...just in the same FTP session....then refresh your forum page....

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:18 pm
by onit
ok.. I have everything backed up
Should only take me another 15 minutes to edit and upload now that I understand what the hell im doing.... thanks to you :)

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:24 pm
by EagleWing
another tip about the 'index.php' page ADD.....

theres 3 places that are real close to the same code you ADDing behind....but only 1 that has the word 'edit' in the line above...its close to the bottom of the page I believe....dont want you to get that one wrong...