phpBB does'nt work after successfully installed

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
newbibi

phpBB does'nt work after successfully installed

Post by newbibi » Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:12 am

Hi, I'm new to phpBB. Please help me as soon as possible. I've download full package of phpBB 2.0.21 and successfully installed it on my hosting. I already finished the installation successfully (the database has been created too) but then the phpBB did work at all. When I open my installed phpBB, it appears the following warning: "phpBB : Could not locate valid language pack".

So, please tell me how to solve this problem. Thank you for your help.

espicom

Post by espicom » Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:42 am

It's saying you don't have at least the english language pack (lang_english) installed, or your host has configured PHP so that it isn't allowed to search for the languages. Are you getting other error messages? Do you have the directory /languages/lang_english/ on your website?
Jeff
Fixing 1016/1030/1034 Errors | (obsolete link) | MySQL 4.1/5.x Client Error | phpBBv2 Logo in ACP
Support requests via PM are ignored!
"To be fully alive is to feel that everything is possible." - Eric Hoffer

newbibi

Post by newbibi » Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:53 am

I've already had /languages/lang_english/ directory on my website. And I did have no other error messages. When I install phpBB, everything seems to be allright but after finishing it does'nt work.

newbibi

Post by newbibi » Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:32 am

Can anyone help me, please?

AMD Power

Post by AMD Power » Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:55 am

Can you try upload all phpbb files again overwriting your existing one?

1. Make sure to remove config.php, install and contrib folder from your unzipped phpbb full package.