phpBB does'nt work after successfully installed

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
m2getpb
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:10 pm

Post by m2getpb » Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:30 am

bumping in hopes that someone can please help.

User avatar
hwould
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:30 am

Post by hwould » Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:36 am

I too have had this problem, so I have to still run 20.20 or whatever, soon as we get an answer I guess we'll all be happy!

m2getpb
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:10 pm

Post by m2getpb » Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:25 pm

bumping again...

There are a few of us that could really use some answers! If anyone could please help.

albosky
Registered User
Posts: 463
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 7:13 pm

Post by albosky » Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:48 pm

from includes/functions.php

Code: Select all

		if ( !file_exists(@phpbb_realpath($phpbb_root_path . 'language/lang_' . $default_lang . '/lang_main.'.$phpEx)) )
		{
			message_die(CRITICAL_ERROR, 'Could not locate valid language pack');
		}
	}
You said the file exists , so lets make sure the default language exists

[*]Create a fix.php file with the following:

Code: Select all

<?php
define('IN_PHPBB', true);
$phpbb_root_path = './';
include($phpbb_root_path . 'extension.inc');
include($phpbb_root_path . 'common.'.$phpEx);
$userdata = session_pagestart($user_ip, PAGE_INDEX);
init_userprefs($userdata);
$page_title = 'phpBB Fix';
include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/page_header.'.$phpEx);

$sql = "UPDATE " . CONFIG_TABLE . " SET
			config_value = 'english'
			WHERE config_name = 'default_lang'";

if(!$result = $db->sql_query($sql))
{
   message_die(CRITICAL_ERROR, "Could not open config table", "", __LINE__, __FILE__, $sql);
}
else
{
   echo 'Default Lang updated. You should now delete this file';
}
include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/page_tail.'.$phpEx);
?>
[*]Upload the file to your board's root folder (the one with config.php)
[*]Run it by navigating to the file in your browser (ex. http://www.yoursite.com/phpBB2/fix.php)
[*]Delete the file after you see the "Default Lang updated" message[/list]

m2getpb
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:10 pm

Post by m2getpb » Thu Aug 24, 2006 3:52 pm

Okay I just tried that and copy & pasted exactly what you typed and this is what I got back.....


Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /home/myusername/public_html/phpBB2/fix.php on line 2

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/myusername/public_html/phpBB2/fix.php on line 2


I uninstalled, reinstalled, redid everything. Ran fix.php (with above error so I'm guessing that did no good) and got the same error when all was said and done... cannot find valid language pack.

I also double checked, just to be sure, all the lines from the corrections previously posted and they ARE all there and correct. I'm starting to think I have bad php karma.

morestuff
Registered User
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:19 am

Post by morestuff » Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:34 pm

what are you using to copy , edit, etc the files.

that error usually occurs when someone copies something from here and then puts it into something like dreamweaver or some other thing that is not a text editor.

m2getpb
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:10 pm

Post by m2getpb » Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:57 pm

I put it into notepad. Nothing fancy. I C&P'd into notepad, saved, loaded it and ran it.

Is there something else I *should* use instead? I'm happy to try anything if anyone has a good suggestion! :) I used notepad because DH is a programmer and he says he uses notepad all the time for "quick little fixes." So I figured what the heck. Any suggestions are appreciated though!

nm3210
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:52 am
Contact:

Post by nm3210 » Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:24 pm

You guys are making this a bigger deal than it has to be.

Most likely the problem with all of your forums is that there is something wrong in the database. I had this same problem and i found out that i was missing a few lines in my database. The language portion is found in table phpbb_config under default_lang, it should be set to "english" without the quotes, of course. This will take care of the board not finding the language when it's actually there!
Image

m2getpb
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:10 pm

Post by m2getpb » Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:47 am

OMG that freakin' WORKED! I cannot believe it. All this time and it was a simple 2 minute fix! Thank you very much :)

evergamer
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:01 pm

Post by evergamer » Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:05 pm

im sorry, but im not exactly sure how to fix this after reading this.


can anyone give me a few pointers on how to implement nm3210's fix please?

morestuff
Registered User
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:19 am

Post by morestuff » Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:38 pm

evergamer wrote: im sorry, but im not exactly sure how to fix this after reading this.


can anyone give me a few pointers on how to implement nm3210's fix please?


using phpmyadmin or whatever you have to access and maintain your database, go to your database, browse the config table,
look for default language and set it to english.

evergamer
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:01 pm

Post by evergamer » Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:54 pm

well, very sorry for the ignorance here...but i still dont see what you mean.

i'm using 2.0.21. is there any way you can possibly tell me the path to the DB?

is it actually IN the phpbb folder?

evergamer
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:01 pm

Post by evergamer » Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:57 pm

wait...found the myadmin thing. will try in there. thanks. :)

morestuff
Registered User
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:19 am

Post by morestuff » Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:06 am

your database is not in your phpbb files/folder. you have to access it from your hosting control panel usually. sometimes your host or you, will have installed phpmyadmin to your web space and you can access it directly that way.

if you don't know, then contact your host and ask them .

luck,

evergamer
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:01 pm

Post by evergamer » Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:18 am

i found it and fixed it. had to add an entry to the DB.

thank you very much for the help!

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”