Problem following flash tutorial

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Bassmonster
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:23 pm

Problem following flash tutorial

Post by Bassmonster »

Hi guys, i'm a totally new to phpbb2.

I'm following the flash installation video. I've copied all the files to my website using cuteftp. it's telling me to point to the install.php to carry out installation but when i do it doesn't open instead, it's asking if i want to download the file...any why it's doing this?
many thanks.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69739
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Post by KevC »

Contact your hosts and ask them if your server space has the necessary requirements to install a phpbb forum.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Avelladore
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Post by Avelladore »

Does your site support PHP, does it have MySQL? Are you entering www.yourdomain.com/forum/install/install.php ??

Bassmonster
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:23 pm

Post by Bassmonster »

I am pointing to my site....

http://www.bass-monster.co.uk/PHP/install/install.php

they do have mysql and support php. is there a database which needs to be setup? if so, what must is consist of?

User avatar
Avelladore
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Post by Avelladore »

Yes you do need to set up a MYSQL Database, It consits of a Database name, Username and Password.

Bassmonster
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:23 pm

Post by Bassmonster »

Avelladore wrote: Yes you do need to set up a MYSQL Database, It consits of a Database name, Username and Password.


does this table need to have any of tables? or does it just need to be a blank database?

MYSQL is setup by my ISP but i dont understand why the installation page does not show?

User avatar
Avelladore
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Post by Avelladore »

Blank Database. Yes im not sure either ask someone else im out of solutions sorry :(

Good Luck,

Avelladore

Bassmonster
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:23 pm

Post by Bassmonster »

anyone? :cry:

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

The database is empty proir to the install. phpBB2 will populate the database at the install.
You need to have the empty database ready and know:
The database type
The database name
The database username
The database password

You can leave the prefix for the tables as phpbb_

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

Flavaz
Registered User
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:19 pm
Contact:

Post by Flavaz »

Jim...... im chatting to him on msn as he is a member of my forum...

He aint being clear
- He has the mysql login details
- He changed his config to 666
- However when he points to install it turns into a download of install.php file

Why would that be?
Im a newbie so please dont reply in php/techie lingo as it make me feel stooooooooopid :(

Flavaz
Registered User
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:19 pm
Contact:

Post by Flavaz »

what u mean empty? there is a test table in his mysql - should he delete?
Im a newbie so please dont reply in php/techie lingo as it make me feel stooooooooopid :(

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 69739
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Post by KevC »

Courtesy of a post by Bobble that I found....

Create a file called info.php including this code:

Code: Select all

<?php
phpinfo();
?>
upload it and try to open it in your browser. If you only see the code or it trys to download then your host does not support PHP. If they support PHP you will get a lot of info on the installation.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Bassmonster
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:23 pm

Post by Bassmonster »

this is what comes up when i point to the install.php file.
Image

mw-dnb
Registered User
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:12 am

Post by mw-dnb »

the only time you will be prompted to download an actual php file is if:

a.) you don't have php
b.) mime types are configured incorrectly in the apache server (the isp would have noticed within hours)
The brighest light burns out the quickest and you burn so very bright.
www.elementsofbass.com | For the breakbeat hardcore

Bassmonster
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:23 pm

Post by Bassmonster »

I've just tried Kevin's suggestion but still no luck. PHP is definetely setup from what I can see. If anyone else any other idea's that would be great but in the mean time, i think i should contact my ISP.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”