I cant do anything.

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
Aidan Ellams
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:11 pm

I cant do anything.

Post by Aidan Ellams »

I try to change the colour of my background, but it doesnt change. I try to put a banner on, but nothing happens. I need help please. :x

User avatar
lurttinen
Translator
Posts: 4670
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:05 pm

Post by lurttinen »

Are you editing the correct template?
Are you uploadeing the files back to the server after you have edited them?
Signature is here

mw-dnb
Registered User
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:12 am

Post by mw-dnb »

you should be editing those in the style/theme your using. they appear as i've customized all my stuff from time to time. you are probably just putting things in the wrong place.

i would say i could help but i think when it comes time to editing code you need someone who actually knows what they are doing. if you want to know what your doing get some books or take some classes. otherwise it's like me going out and trying to work on a boeing 747 when i've only traveled in one.
The brighest light burns out the quickest and you burn so very bright.
www.elementsofbass.com | For the breakbeat hardcore

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

How did you try to change the color of the background?

In some styles there is also the overall_header.tpl to consider as well as the .css file.

In subSilver the style comes from the overall_header.tpl as the link to the style sheet is commented out.
<!-- link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/subSilver/{T_HEAD_STYLESHEET}" type="text/css" -->


Changing that to
link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/subSilver/{T_HEAD_STYLESHEET}" type="text/css"
and removing all the info between <style> and </style> in the overall_header.tpl will make it use the subSilver.css file.

Alternatively you could edit the style info in the overall_header.tpl file

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

Aidan Ellams
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:11 pm

Post by Aidan Ellams »

Forget changing colour of the background,

I go on general admin, Configure banner, then i choose my image from my computer. I press open and it loads the image, it takes some time and when it finishes the box goes blank and my banned did not appear on my forum.
100100011001

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51980
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Post by Brf »

You cant link to files on your computer. You have to upload them to your webserver, and link to them there.

beatme101
Registered User
Posts: 2866
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 6:20 am
Location: The country cold comes from; Canada.
Contact:

Post by beatme101 »

Aidan Ellams wrote: Forget changing colour of the background,

I go on general admin, Configure banner, then i choose my image from my computer. I press open and it loads the image, it takes some time and when it finishes the box goes blank and my banned did not appear on my forum.


Where do you see "Configure banner"? There is nothing like that anywhere in phpbb's admin panel.

tcr2005
Registered User
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:40 am
Contact:

Post by tcr2005 »

its from a mod...you need to ask for support from wherever you got the mod

Aidan Ellams
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:11 pm

Post by Aidan Ellams »

Image
100100011001

beatme101
Registered User
Posts: 2866
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 6:20 am
Location: The country cold comes from; Canada.
Contact:

Post by beatme101 »

Aidan Ellams wrote: Image


Okay, that's definitely not a regular phpbb function, so,
tcr2005 wrote: its from a mod...you need to ask for support from wherever you got the mod

morestuff
Registered User
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:19 am

Post by morestuff »

are you by chance using one of the free phpbb hosts?

they often install that mod.

if so, you need to contact whoever your free host is.

Aidan Ellams
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:11 pm

Post by Aidan Ellams »

Well, i did get my forum from here.
100100011001

Bobble
Registered User
Posts: 3504
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:51 pm

Post by Bobble »

A link to your board please, it'll help sort this faster.

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

You did not get it from here as there is no such function in the standard phpBB2
If you mean it is phpBB2 then yes that may be the case but your host has added that extra function to it.

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”