please help, changing domain name!

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

please help, changing domain name!

Post by micxuy »

Hi guys;

I just changed the domain name (eventhough still in the same hosting), i did copy all the forum files to hard drive and up it again on a new domain. but seems like its working. and i do not know where to change the path.

Can you guys please tell me how.

I have a tons of topics/news inside.... please help.

Thank you very much

Regards

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29253
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Post by Marshalrusty »

You'll have to be a bit more descriptive than that. Are you changing databases as well, or just moving the files? Have you tried simply uploading the files you have to the new location?
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by micxuy »

Marshalrusty wrote: You'll have to be a bit more descriptive than that. Are you changing databases as well, or just moving the files? Have you tried simply uploading the files you have to the new location?


Thx for your reply.

I didnt change the database, all the same, the hosting also, just the domain address. Just moving file. but i cant get in the admin control panel. I bet there are wrong path; because the path isnt the same anymore... so i just tried to find in the files; hoped that they will have some file like config to config the path to the forum... but couldnt find anything.

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29253
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Post by Marshalrusty »

Ah, okay.

Knowledge Base - Fixing cookie/domain/script path settings
If you still have a problem after following the instructions in the article, please post back with your new cookie settings.
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by micxuy »

phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database

i always got this... for sure the path isnt right; but i dont know where to fix it... please help

thanks

micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by micxuy »

... when change the domain; they delete all my database; howerver i still got full backup from phpmyadmin. I wonder can i restore it? because it is quite large; 50 MB .... i just cant do it; can anyone please tell me how?

UberSkilled.com
Registered User
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:04 am
Contact:

Post by UberSkilled.com »

If it's 50mb, I'd upload it somewhere and ask your host to import it for you.

If you have shell access, it's as simple as running mysql -u user < backup.sql -p, but your average host doesn't give you that :).



/Whitey

micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by micxuy »

thanks for your reply; i use bigdump to import it... howerver i always got this error

Code: Select all

Error at the line 72930: INSERT INTO phpbb_search_wordlist (word_text, word_id, word_common) VALUES('¡n', '19340', '0');

Query: INSERT INTO phpbb_search_wordlist (word_text, word_id, word_common) VALUES('¡n', '19340', '0');

MySQL: Duplicate entry '¡n' for key 1
i tried to delete this line then i got another error which show the same error ; just a different value...

can u please tell me whats happing?

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

This is a common error.
Open your sql file in a text editor and find the 3 search tables. Now remove all the lines that start
INSERT INTO for just those 3 tables
Now use bigdump to do the restore.
Now install this very simple mod to rebuild the search tables.
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=329629

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by micxuy »

Jim_UK wrote: This is a common error.
Open your sql file in a text editor and find the 3 search tables. Now remove all the lines that start
INSERT INTO for just those 3 tables
Now use bigdump to do the restore.
Now install this very simple mod to rebuild the search tables.
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=329629

Jim


thanks for your help; im trying now; but one more question please;
do i have to remove all the INSERT TO? because i only got the problem with this INSERT INTO phpbb_search_wordlist table (may be)....

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67071
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

micxuy wrote:
Jim_UK wrote:This is a common error.
Open your sql file in a text editor and find the 3 search tables. Now remove all the lines that start
INSERT INTO for just those 3 tables
Now use bigdump to do the restore.
Now install this very simple mod to rebuild the search tables.
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=329629

Jim


thanks for your help; im trying now; but one more question please;
do i have to remove all the INSERT TO? because i only got the problem with this INSERT INTO phpbb_search_wordlist table (may be)....


yes, but only for the search tables, not for any other tables.

there are three search tables.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by micxuy »

thank you very much...

i restored all my database already.. but like i said at first. ive changed the domain; so now it always redirect to the old one. how to fix it please?

thanks

PS and i always got Fatal Error! when click to the post...?

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

This is because your database still has the old domain name in it.
Access your database with phpmyadmin and go to the table phpbb_config (probably 2nd page)
Find the field "Server_name" and edit it to show your new domain name.

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

micxuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:26 pm

Post by micxuy »

Jim_UK wrote: This is because your database still has the old domain name in it.
Access your database with phpmyadmin and go to the table phpbb_config (probably 2nd page)
Find the field "Server_name" and edit it to show your new domain name.

Jim


i did change it but i still got Fatal Error .... eventhough i can access the admin/ see all the posts; everything like normal unless this error when i tried to see the topic...

P/S; i did install cash/lottery and shop MODS; but seems like they didnt create the table in the backup file; so just keep getting error about that also...
Last edited by micxuy on Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jim_UK
Former Team Member
Posts: 18478
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: Darwen N.West UK

Post by Jim_UK »

And the full "Fatal error" message is?

A link to your site please.

Jim
The truth is out there.
Unfortunately they will not let you anywhere near it!

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”