images not being locally cached

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
DreamLucid
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 5:59 pm
Contact:

images not being locally cached

Post by DreamLucid »

Hello,
First time poster, long time user/reader. :wink:

I'm a moderator on the http://LD4all.com forum, a lucid dream forum. A few other members and myself have noticed the images that the forum uses are not being locally cached. Things like the buttons, new-post indicators, and emoticons have to be downloaded on every single page. For people with 28k dialup this can be really slow, over 1 minute just to load the "non-standard" "view more emoticons" page.

We use phpBB 2.0.1, and it loads underneath a top frame from another domain. I use IE6 and notice this problem. I've tried every setting on my browser. My browser is set to check for newer pages "automatically" with a 24MB space reserved for cached files. I've tried setting my cookies settings to "allow all cookies," but the problem persist. However, other visitors also use IE6 and report that they do not have this problem. So I'm sure that this is not a browser problem.

Please help. I've seached this forum for help for 3 days, but couldn't find anything.

Could this be a setting on the forum that needs to be changed? I don't have direct access to the forum, but I could pass this info to the admin.

PS - I notice the images on this forum are cached. It loads so much more quickly. :D I wish ours was like that. :cry:
Stop sleeping through your dreams. Learn to lucid dream at http://LD4all.com
DreamLucid
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by DreamLucid »

I found out that our forum's domain is a virtual domain. The direct link to our forum is http://www.slagt.net/ld4all/index.php
but the slagt.net domain is actually hosted by http://www.trimm.nl/

Could this virtual domain be the cause? :?:
Thanks!
Stop sleeping through your dreams. Learn to lucid dream at http://LD4all.com
DreamLucid
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by DreamLucid »

Did I stump the all knowing? I'm sure someone out here has an answer. Anyone? :?:
Stop sleeping through your dreams. Learn to lucid dream at http://LD4all.com
DreamLucid
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by DreamLucid »

Pretty please. :?
Stop sleeping through your dreams. Learn to lucid dream at http://LD4all.com
DreamLucid
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by DreamLucid »

Any guesses?
Stop sleeping through your dreams. Learn to lucid dream at http://LD4all.com
DreamLucid
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by DreamLucid »

Pretty please with a cherry on top. :lol:
Stop sleeping through your dreams. Learn to lucid dream at http://LD4all.com
DreamLucid
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by DreamLucid »

Let me try bumping this once more. For weeks now I have searched every forum and post, and I can't find an answer. I've read through the tutorials/solutions forum over and over, I'm scoured the support forums, and I have even visited other phpbb forums to see if they suffer from the same "cache" problem, but they don't. :? These forums that do cache are so much more surf friendly for my dial-up account. I really really wish I could find a solution for our forum. I'm sure our other dial-up visitors will appreciate this also.

Pretty please and Thank-you :!: May God give you a thousand blessings if you find the answer. :wink:
Stop sleeping through your dreams. Learn to lucid dream at http://LD4all.com
netclectic
Former Team Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 3:08 pm
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Post by netclectic »

Is it an apache webserver?
Does your service provider allow you to use .htacess files?

If so, then you might want to read this article - Cache-Friendly Web Pages or search google for more htaccess info or maybe ask your service provider to set it up for you.
Defend the game:
Image
w3neo
Registered User
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 3:35 pm
Contact:

Post by w3neo »

netclectic - that is so cool... just wish I understood it. I have htaccess on an apache server but it said something about restarting the server which I do not have phsyical access to.

I will go back and re-read it but if anyone else stumbles across this thread with a simple solution for a simple minded person please elaborate as this would be awesome to implement. I have a fast connection but it is not quick... 2-way sat... and the images take a long time to refresh a page here too. If I could force local caching this would make my forum abetter place to surf and reduce some bandwidth at the same time.

My forum is still small but I have concerns about all the avatars and I sure sig banners will be coming soon (not my bandwidth but still slowing pages donw more) as users figure out how to use them and this would solve the problem before it starts.
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”