First connection "reboot" problem with 2.0.22

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
User avatar
Pouzy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Pouzy »

Ok, I've tried, but it did'nt work. So I re-uploaded the phpbb_sessions_keys table...

I don't know what to do now :'(
espicom
Registered User
Posts: 17905
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:14 am
Location: Woodstock, IL

Post by espicom »

What do you mean, "I re-uploaded the phpbb_sessions_keys table... "? You restored it from a backup, or what?
Jeff
Fixing 1016/1030/1034 Errors | (obsolete link) | MySQL 4.1/5.x Client Error | phpBBv2 Logo in ACP
Support requests via PM are ignored!
"To be fully alive is to feel that everything is possible." - Eric Hoffer
User avatar
Pouzy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Pouzy »

Yes, I saved it, truncated it, but it didn't work. So I re-uploaded my save :)

But I still don't know what is happening there :(
User avatar
Pouzy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Pouzy »

Ok, i've tired another thing, that made me sure it comes from the database.

I uploaded a new phpbb forum, put it on the old database : it did'nt work.
I uploaded my old files, put it with a new database : it worked !

Any idea of which table can do that ? :(
espicom
Registered User
Posts: 17905
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:14 am
Location: Woodstock, IL

Post by espicom »

Pouzy, I think we are getting a bit confused by the language barrier here. Have you tried your question on one of the native French support forums?

http://www.phpbb-fr.com/
http://www.phpbb.biz/

When you restore an old database into a new forum, you must run the install/update_to_latest.php script that comes with the new software, or you will get errors. There are also problems with restoring backups that are larger than 2MB, which are discussed in the Knowledge Base article on backing up and restoring databases.
Jeff
Fixing 1016/1030/1034 Errors | (obsolete link) | MySQL 4.1/5.x Client Error | phpBBv2 Logo in ACP
Support requests via PM are ignored!
"To be fully alive is to feel that everything is possible." - Eric Hoffer
User avatar
Pouzy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Pouzy »

Yes, I know all this things, and there is no problem with the database restore.
What I am trying to explain is that with my investigations, I know that the problem comes from the database :)

I've installed a new forum ( with a new BDD ) and changed the prefix, so I put my old database prefix : same problem.
Same files, but I changed the prefix to the new installed base : no problem !

So it comes froms the database. But where ?

PS : The frenchs communities are down, in those times... I've asked, but not any answer.
User avatar
Pouzy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Pouzy »

I'm asking myself something.. is there a real problem or does it comes from my computer ? I've tried with a new Firefox profile, but it's the same.. But could you try please ?

Login : usertest
Pass : test

Thank's !
User avatar
Pouzy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Pouzy »

Could someone try please ? I need to know :)
espicom
Registered User
Posts: 17905
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:14 am
Location: Woodstock, IL

Post by espicom »

I logged in as "usertest", and everything worked fine. I closed my browser, and visited your site, and it auto-logged me in, with no problems.

This was using Firefox 2.0.
Jeff
Fixing 1016/1030/1034 Errors | (obsolete link) | MySQL 4.1/5.x Client Error | phpBBv2 Logo in ACP
Support requests via PM are ignored!
"To be fully alive is to feel that everything is possible." - Eric Hoffer
User avatar
Pouzy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:56 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Pouzy »

Ok. I confirm that was coming from my computer.
I've just installed Vista right now, and tested with FF 2.0. It worked !

But I still don't understand because I've reinstalled few times FF 2 on XP, with cleaning Application Data and the register...

So. Sorry for the disturbing ! :mrgreen:

Thank's for all !
espicom
Registered User
Posts: 17905
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:14 am
Location: Woodstock, IL

Post by espicom »

Glad it is fixed. While I have not heard of any issues with FireFox on Vista, that does not mean they do not exist.
Jeff
Fixing 1016/1030/1034 Errors | (obsolete link) | MySQL 4.1/5.x Client Error | phpBBv2 Logo in ACP
Support requests via PM are ignored!
"To be fully alive is to feel that everything is possible." - Eric Hoffer
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”