Quick question

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
Leasara
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:45 am

Quick question

Post by Leasara » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:36 pm

I'm building my first website, and I'd like to use phpBB for the forum. I have it installed, but it shows up on it's own page.

What I'm wondering is, would it be possible to have the board 'nested' within my site's header, footer, and menu?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50894
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Post by stevemaury » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:38 pm

Link to it from the site. So, your URL is mydomain and the link is to mydomain/phpBB2.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

Leasara
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:45 am

Post by Leasara » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:46 pm

That was quick!

I must be doing something wrong then. I've been at this all night, so I'm a little slow :p

The site is http://lateshift.org, the forums are installed at http://lateshift.org/forums. Currently, that's also the link in the menu. Are you saying that the link should point directly at /forums/index.php?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50894
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Post by stevemaury » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:49 pm

The index.php is not necessary, but will do no harm. A link to http://lateshift.org/forums seems to work from your post.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

Leasara
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:45 am

Post by Leasara » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:52 pm

Yes, it shows my forum, but it doesn't show the site's header, footer, or menu.

Bobble
Registered User
Posts: 3504
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:51 pm

Post by Bobble » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:54 pm

Add your header and footer code to overall_header.tpl and overall_footer.tpl in your template directory.

Leasara
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:45 am

Post by Leasara » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:57 pm

Ahh, thanks much :)

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50894
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Post by stevemaury » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:59 pm

For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”