Page 1 of 2

Deleting Users - better way?

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 4:17 pm
by Colliope
The only way I can find to delete a user is to go to "User Admin", "Management", type the name in, click "Look up user", then delete. :(

I've just discovered 25 fake/spam users that signed up in the last week or so. PLEASE tell me there's a more efficient way to delete users?

C
(version 2.0.19)

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 4:23 pm
by Phil
First off, upgrade. While it won't help you with this particular issue, you're exposing yourself to security risks.

As for your question, try the admin toolkit

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:10 pm
by stevemaury
And if you prevent their registering, you don't have to delete them.

Preventing SPAM - Bots and Humans

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:19 pm
by Dogs and things
A very nice MOD for this purpose is Prune User Posts. Installing it consists of uploading three files to your server and there´s no editing involved.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:21 pm
by Colliope
iWisdom wrote: As for your question, try the admin toolkit


I uploaded the file and edited it as directed for my passwords. However, when I access the toolkit.php from my browser and enter my pw to log in, I get

Your browser must be set to accept cookies from the www.my domain.com to use the PHPBB Admin ToolKit.
Please enable your cookies and try again.

In your browser, goto Tools -> Options -> Privacy.
Then either set the cookie permissions to Allow or set the cookie permissions for www.keangenes.com to Allow.
(Note: Depending on the browser, the settings may be in a slightly different location.)


I added my domain to the list and set to "Always Allow". Still getting message. Then I cleared my cookies and history - still getting the above message.

?

C

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:26 pm
by Colliope
Dogs and things wrote: A very nice MOD for this purpose is Prune User Posts. Installing it consists of uploading three files to your server and there´s no editing involved.


Thanks, I read thru that thread but that tool seems to be for pruning posts, no mention of using it to delete users.

C

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:37 pm
by Dogs and things
It does give you the possibility to prune user(s), post(s), user(s) and post(s).

Code: Select all

## MOD Description: This is an admin module for your Administration Panel. It is a very
##					Advanced version of the pruning tool available in phpBB. You can prune
##					forums based on users (all or individuals), groups, IPs (ranges, specific,
##					banned), Guests and more.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:53 pm
by stevemaury
You need to get the latest version, 2.1a. That was fixed. Go here:

http://starfoxtj.no-ip.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=175

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:05 pm
by Colliope
A very nice MOD for this purpose is Prune User Posts. Installing it consists of uploading three files to your server and there´s no editing involved.


I downloaded it and the Install text file says copy

admin/admin_prune_user_posts.php to admin/admin_prune_user_posts.php

templates/subSilver/admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl to templates/subSilver/admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl

anguage/lang_english/lang_prune_user_posts.php to language/lang_english/lang_prune_user_posts.php

which I did. But I am getting this error message

Template->make_filename(): Error - file admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl does not exist

when I click the new prune option in the Admin panel.

Is it possible the install txt instructions are wrong about where the tpl file is supposed to go?

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:12 pm
by Funk Theory
Colliope wrote: Template->make_filename(): Error - file admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl does not exist

when I click the new prune option in the Admin panel.

Is it possible the install txt instructions are wrong about where the tpl file is supposed to go?


And does it exist in that location? It looks like you need to upload it, from your machine, from the mod you downloaded, to the server.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:13 pm
by rvmomma
it will go into the templates/yourstyle/admin folder, not the main admin folder.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:14 pm
by Jim_UK
templates/subSilver/admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl to templates/subSilver/admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl and to all other templates that you use not just subSilver


Jim

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:18 pm
by Colliope
stevemaury wrote: You need to get the latest version, 2.1a. That was fixed. Go here:

http://starfoxtj.no-ip.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=175


Deleted the first install, downloaded 2.1a, and it worked just fine. Extra users deleted. Thankyou!

C

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:20 pm
by Colliope
Funk Theory wrote: And does it exist in that location?


Yes.

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:22 pm
by Colliope
Jim_UK wrote: templates/subSilver/admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl to templates/subSilver/admin/admin_prune_user_posts.tpl and to all other templates that you use not just subSilver


Jim


AH!! Important directions there. Wonder why that wasn't stated in the directions. Now that I have successfully installed the Toolkit, is it safe to continue trying to get this Prune tool running too?